A “Rustic” Strawberry Galette


As I mentioned earlier, Martha Stewart is my hero. I’ve admired her since I was very, very young. Preschool to be exact. One of my Dad’s favorite stories to tell is the one about my demanding Martha’s show to be recorded on VHS while I was at day care. When I returned home in the afternoon, Mom and I watched the recorded shows. As she did laundry and cleaned, I sat three feet from the television, with my eyes transfixed.

Do yourself a huge favor this spring and listen to Martha. Go out and find those itty bitty baby berries and make this galette. If you’re fortunate enough to have a cheap road-side stand like I do, make a quick stop. I tagged this recipe two years ago! I knew that any old out of season berries wouldn’t cut it, so I waited for perfection.

This recipe is a project. You won’t get finished in an hour. If you’re like me, you may not even finish it two hours. However, if you choose to take on the challenge, you’ll create a true restaurant quality, sophisticated dessert. The taste is best described as a more mature strawberry pop tart. The pastry is buttery and crumbly and the filling is sweet, but not too sweet. Personally, I could hardly tasted the basil in the whipped cream, only a hint. (After tasting the galette again, one day later, I’ve changed my mind. The basil flavor is now quite pronounced.)

Thirteen years later, I’m still a fan of Martha, and her crazy, perfectionist ways. The fact that her magazine called this galette “rustic” really blows my mind. Is French pastry rustic? How about a basil-infused whipped cream? Flash fried, sugar-coated leaves? Concentric and overlapping strawberry circles? Maybe I have no idea what “rustic” means. But what do I know? I’m just a Kentucky girl.

Strawberry Galette Recipe

I made a major change, some may say a, “no-no,” when making the pastry. I reduced the amount of butter from two sticks to one-and-a-half sticks, because I’m frankly afraid of what two entire sticks of butter would do to my loved ones. Nobody missed the extra butter, and I still achieved a crumbly texture and a buttery taste. I also used a half cup of whole wheat flour because I ran out of white - forced healthfulness! :)

Comments
10 Responses to “A “Rustic” Strawberry Galette”
  1. Courtney says:

    Hey I just found your blog and I had to comment cuz I’m THE SAME WAY about Martha! Some girls read Seventeen, I read Martha Stewart Living haha. :D I would watch her as a kiddie too- every day at 10:00. That galette looks delicious! I probably would get impatient and go buy some poptarts midway through making it. ;) Great photography!!

  2. Elana says:

    Great pictures! I look forward to the recipe.

  3. Julia says:

    There is nothing like fresh, juicy strawberries in the summer! That galette is GAWJUSS although I agree with you- looks more like something-you’d-find-in-a-french-bakery than rustic.

  4. Boyfriend says:

    I must say this Strawberry Galette was AMAZING!
    I want another slice today, Please?

  5. What a beautiful blog you have! This galette looks fantastic and so Martha Stewart-y!

  6. Nicole says:

    I was actually looking at this recipe the other day trying to decide whether or not to try Martha’s version or create my own Strawberry Galette. Still haven’t decided, but wanted to say that yours turned out beautifully! Love the side-by-side photos of the unbaked and baked galette. Great post!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] you’ll read my “ME” page, and some old posts. My personal favorites have been the Strawberry Galette, Mango Salsa, and Ethiopian Injera Flatbread. The food has been fabulous (mostly ) this summer, so [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

