Concord Grape Sorbet


I broke blogging rule yesterday! I failed to post, but not without good reason.

You see, I started my day off with swim practice, as usual. After that, I went grocery shopping, dog-sitting, and ice-cream-making. At 3:30, I started entertaining 5 of the most angelic of children, not.

I planned in blogging; I really wanted to! I brought my laptop and my charger, but the 3-year-old required my undivided attention. During the 5-hour session, we played 5 video games, 3 board games, and watched a show. To top off the experience, the mommy was pretty angry when she got home. And as a result, I was underpaid.

So, I didn’t post, and I see the results. . . which are a big zig-zaggy line of my blog views. It’s a little discouraging to be honest. But then, I read Jenny’s post, which addresses a similar problem, obsessive blogging disorder. As someone with the real thing, you know. . .the other one. I don’t want to succumb to this disease too!

I’m vowing to live my teenage life first, and blog second. I do have big hopes for my blog; I want to see it grow. However, I’m not going to let it be another thing on my somewhat stressful, endless to-do list. I might not post every single day, but post when I have the extra time. Blogging is for fun, even if the number of views are zig-zaggy.

FYI: I’m still planning on posting daily, I’m just saying that I’m not going to worry if I miss a day.

I’ve discussed children, so this just goes perfectly? Right? Right! :D It’s concord grape sorbet, the flavor of childhood peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.

Have you ever had a fresh concord grape? I hadn’t until last summer. The fresh flavor instantly reminded me of what I consider “the artificial grape taste,” because I’d never had a fresh concord grape. As it turns out, the flavor isn’t artificial at all, it’s just within a grape that we don’t commonly see in the grocery store!

I was impressed immediately. The next thing I knew, Gourmet published a Concord Grape Sorbet in their 2009 September issue, tag it! And so I did. It’s been waiting on me since last September. No, really. I bought the grapes and froze them – last September.

Thank goodness for freezer-preservation-power because this sorbet is the best I’ve ever made! And believe me, this isn’t my first try. I’ve made pistachio, chocolate, cherry, and vanilla ice creams. The texture of this sorbet is perfect. Maybe I just needed to practice, but I’m really proud of this dessert. Although it has no fat, the mouthfeel is creamy and luxe.

Not to mention, it’s cold, and that might be the best part. It’s been over 90 degrees in Kentucky lately. It’s refreshing and guiltless and easy and awesome. Although my mother embarrassed me by claiming it to be “cherry!” flavored, at least we can agree in the coldness part. ;)

What the best way to enjoy it? Slightly melty, with baby spoons! I saw these little guys at a local boutique and had the hardest time buying them – eight bucks! Two dollars for each plastic spoon? Yes! I purchased them three days ago and I’ve already used them eight times. Plus, if it makes you feel better, they’re made from recycled plastic. Now, with your hot summer day and your baby spoon in hand, go make this sorbet! It’s really too easy, and totally worth it.

P.S. Do you like that outside photo? Let me tell you how much fun it was to take! I let the sorbet sit for 10 minutes to soften. Then I scooped it quickly into little mounds. I rushed outside and put the frozen concoction in the sun, where it promptly melted. Then I scorched my feet on our blazing deck. . . If you’re looking for some entertainment, try photographing ice cream in the summertime! ;)

Concord Grape Sorbet

by Gourmet; I used half the grapes and only used 1/6 cup of powdered sugar.

yield: Makes about 1 quart

active time: 10 min

total time: 5 3/4 hr (includes chilling)

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds Concord grapes (2 quarts) stemmed, divided (mine were frozen)
  • 3/4 cup superfine granulated sugar

Preparation

Purée half of grapes in a blender until smooth, then force through a fine-mesh sieve into a bowl, discarding solids. Repeat with remaining grapes to yield 3 cups purée. Whisk in sugar until dissolved. Chill until very cold, 3 to 6 hours.

Freeze in ice cream maker, then transfer to an airtight container and put in freezer to firm up, at least 2 hours. The sorbet will keep for 1 month in the freezer.

Comments
21 Responses to “Concord Grape Sorbet”
  1. Leslie says:

    Sami, I love your blog. Keep up the good work. Sarah keeps talking about Branson. I think she enjoyed hanging ou with all her cousins.

  2. Boyfriend says:

    I love your blog!

  3. Don’t push yourself too much to blog. Honestly, life DOES come first and if you find yourself rushing and making yourself blog when you’re tired or rushed, it shows! Quality over quantity :)

    And concord grape sorbet is obviously quality stuff. Sounds so delicious! :) I love your blog, and it doesn’t bother me when you skip a day or two. Blogging does take some work! :)

    Wei-Wei

  4. Lol, your story about getting the outdoor picture is hilarious. Now THAT is dedication. :P

    By the way, your sorbet looks sooo good! I bet it was awesome.

    Ahh I’m totally in love with those spoons! They are so cute; I can only imagine how hard it was for you to buy them. I bet you don’t regret the purchase at all. :P

    By the way, what kind of camera do you have? Your pics are really pretty. :)

  5. Peggy says:

    Love the sorbet recipe, Sami, and by the way….

    We have some great new jams made from the fruit wines (alcohol content less than 1% if any) and heavy on the fruit. ( Blackberries, Raspberries, Rhubarb and Cranberries) Will be happy to send you samples for your valued opinion.
    A. Peggy

  6. mapledreams says:

    Well your epic adventure in trying to photograph your food outside was worth it because the sorbet looks absolutely amazing! So summery and pretty! perfect :-) xx

  7. CourtandWhit says:

    aww baby spoons!!! so cute. IDK for $8 though. Whatev sometimes a girls gotta splurge. Right? lol

  8. Simply Life says:

    Oh that sorbet looks great! Hope you never feel guilty about not writing a post somedays!

  9. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having a
    tough time locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an e-mail.
    I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] I just told you how excited I was about these spoons! And now look! Can you believe it?  I’m so disappointed. Apparently, these guys weren’t made to scoop up Star bucks’ Hot Chocolate Ice Cream when I was sneaking it from the freezer tonight. [...]

  2. [...] So when his 21st birthday approached, I found my perfect excuse to make the Mint Ice Cream that I’ve been eyeing for over a year. I practically destroyed out entire mint plant in the process, but I achieved my first, true ice cream success (not counting the Concord Grape Sorbet). [...]

  3. [...] the baby spoon color change? If you’ve been reading this blog long enough to know about the baby spoons, you’ll be glad to know that the pink one has been risen from the [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

