Chilled Avocado Soup with Spicy Breadcrumbs


Me – “What should I write about this soup?”

Boyfriend – “Well, give the recipe and . . .”

Me – “What!? You don’t put the recipe first!”

Boyfriend – “You don’t have to do it in any order . . .”

He’s right. :)

Chilled Avocado Soup with Spicy Breadcrumbs

Inspired by Bon Appetit, but heavily altered. Go to this page if you want the original recipe and fancy-shmancy nutritional info (my version has less fat and calories, but probably isn’t as scrumptious).

Ingredients
Soup
  • 2 ripe avocados (11 to 12 ounces), halved, pitted, peeled, diced
  • 1 cup water
  • 3/4 cup 2% milk
  • 1/8 cup chopped onion
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • Generous pinch of coarse kosher salt

Breadcrumbs

  • 1/3 cup breadcrumbs, I used panko
  • 1 tablespoon butter (or Smart Balance)
  • 3/4 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/4 teaspoon coarse kosher salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Preparation

  • Place diced avocado in blender. Add 1 cup water, milk, onion, lime juice, and coarse salt. Puree until smooth. Transfer soup to 4-cup measuring cup; add more water by 1/4 cupfuls to thin soup, if desired. Cover and chill at least 2 hours. DO AHEAD Soup can be made up to 4 hours ahead. Keep chilled.
  • Melt butter in medium nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add breadcrumbs to skillet; stir until golden, about 1 minute. Add paprika, coarse salt, and cayenne; stir until crumbs are crisp, about 1 minute longer. Transfer to small bowl and cool. DO AHEAD Breadcrumbs can be made 4 hours ahead. Cover and store at room temperature.

This soup is a great example of the kind of food that I like to cook because it’s innovative, unexpected, and healthy. I was drawn to this recipe because of the contrast. A chilled, creamy soup with a crunchy, spicy topping!? Sold.

This isn’t my first time making avocado soup (how many teenagers can say that? ;)) Compared to the last version that used cucumber, this one is much thicker and creamier. I didn’t thin the puree with extra water, so my result was lush . . . and, um, icky.

Yeah, it’s the truth. The soup was a little too thick, and a lot too bland. My family tried to be nice, but really, I could see beyond their weak compliments. Boyfriend took one bite and then avoided his cup. Dad downed it as fast as he could, without gagging! And Mom, well, Mom said that it made a nice sauce. Personally, I had no problem admitting the obvious, it wasn’t our favorite.

If I were to use this recipe again, I would follow the original recommendations. I changed things up a bit because I had just used our heavy cream on mint chocolate chip ice cream. And we are also out of vegetable stock and chicken stock. On the bright side, the breadcrumbs were super! Spicy, buttery, but not really the point of the recipe. In other good news, the picture above was taken 5 days after the soup was made, still green from the citric acid! Is that staying power or what?

Bottom line is: If you’re going to make this soup, stick to the original recipe . . . and then let me know how it turned out.

Comments
13 Responses to “Chilled Avocado Soup with Spicy Breadcrumbs”
  1. I’m sorry it didn’t work out; that’s disappointing.

    When my friend Ben made it for me, it actually turned out pretty well. His recipe called for cumin and seasoned salt, both of which were really good. It was super thick, because he used heavy whipping cream, but other than that I really enjoyed it. It’s awesome that the soup is chilled. I really like soup, but hot soup + hot summer = no bueno. Haha. :P

  2. Cassie says:

    Long time no see! I love that you have a food blog now, because I totally miss discussions with my food buddy.

    Even if it didn’t turn out so great I can’t fault you for cutting out some of the fat. I mean, avocados AND heavy cream. That is a recipe for an upset tummy in the world of Cassie.

  3. Oh, but I’m glad you learned something! Most of my baking/cooking endeavors end up not too popular… like that pita bread I made (there’s still two in the freezer :S) but I guess that’s how ou learn! :)

    Wei-Wei

  4. maxinthegym says:

    Aww too bad it didn’t work out :( At least it looks good?

    Wait, heavy cream and avocado? I’d cut out the cream as well ugggggg haha

  5. CourtandWhit says:

    Mmmm those spice bread crumbs sound amazing! I bet they’d be awesome in tomatoe soup.

    -Court

  6. Sorry you didn’t like the soup, but I must say it looks BEAUTIFUL!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] I planned to make a chilled soup that I saw in Bon Appetit, but then I decided that I may be cold-souping my family to death. So, I followed another route. I used the Epicurious application on my iPhone to [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

