An Apology to My Blender


As you may recall, my pre-1990 Hamilton Beach Blender was highly criticized a few weeks back. From my “Peach Chutney Salad Dressing” post, I quote, “My blender can’t handle much. If blenders all went to school together, mine would be the whiny kid that never did his work. My blender won’t crush ice . . .” My dear readers, I was wrong.

The truth is – until recently – I was unaware of how to properly crush ice in my blender.  I want to let you in on a blending secret, liquid! In order to make silky-smooth, ice-cold smoothies, you need plenty of liquid to facilitate the blending process. Add your juice or milk first, and then slowly incorporate the ice, a couple of cubes at a time.  You don’t need a Vita-Mix!

Once you master the art of ice crushing, you’ll be able to create the most refreshing summer drinks EVER. Since I’ve learned how to crush ice properly (less than a week ago), I’ve made a least six different frozen drinks. It’s a new obsession.

It all started with Heather’s Protein Ice Cream, maple cinnamon bliss! Next, I moved on to a chocolate version. Heaps of coco powder made my healthy drink as good as a milkshake. From there I explored my fruity options. Pineapple! MANGO! Then I came to this, the ultimate, the Tropical Papaya Smoothie.

It’s Hawaii in a glass. Papaya blends with strawberries and banana into a creamy, decadent drink. The addition of the ice keeps the smoothie from being too sweet, while also keeping the sugar in check. If you really want to enhance the experience, you can add fresh pineapple and an all-natural ;) maraschino cherry. Now that I think of it, a fun-sized umbrella definitely wouldn’t be out-of-place.

Tropical Papaya Smoothie

A Food Network Magazine recipe, but I couldn’t find it online yet. The following is proportion of fruit that I used to make one smoothie.

1 1/2 cups cubes papaya

1/2 banana, sliced

3 extra-large strawberries

7 cubes of ice

Sliced pineapple and maraschino cherries for garnish (not really optional)

Blend the first three ingredients in your blender until completely smooth. Then, add the ice, a couple of cubes at a time. Wait before each ice addition is incorporated before adding more cubes. Garnish with the pineapple and cherries and enjoy!

F.Y.I. My hotel charges 15 dollars a day for Wi-Fi! I’m blogging from an internet cafe at the moment, but my posts will probably be irregular for the next few days. Thank you for being patient while I’m having fun on vacation. :D

Comments
24 Responses to “An Apology to My Blender”
  1. Glad you’re enjoying your vacation. $15 for wi-fi. That’s crazy!

    Also glad you have made up with your blender and discovered the liquid trick. Even with my Vita-Mix, I always add the liquid first. Definitely key. All of your creations sound delicious, amazing, and so refreshing. Perfect for summer!!!

  2. maxinthegym says:

    Don’t worry about us, go enjoy your vacation!

  3. Chef Dennis says:

    now thats a great looking smoothie!! I’m glad your blender redeemed itself!
    have a great fourth!
    Dennis

  4. kbwood says:

    WOW that is a great tropical smoothie!! YAY FOR BLENDERS!! im dying to have a vitamix!

  5. Wei-Wei says:

    I love my blender :D but that IS a great tip. Nice job for learning and sharing the secret ;)

    I hope you’re having fun on your holiday! Don’t spend $15 just to update – get out there and have fun! :D

    Wei-Wei

  6. Enjoy!
    The smoothie looks really good!

  7. Oh gosh. I really, really, -really- want a good smoothie, BUT I can’t justify buying a blender here in Cam, since I have one at home. It’s just sitting in a box in nebraska… all lonely. :(

  8. Daisy says:

    In addition to some beautiful looking smoothies, those are great tip! I am constantly drinking mine with ice chunks. who knew?!

  9. Simply Life says:

    so glad the blender is working! :)

  10. I agree about the addition of copious amounts of liquid for good blending, but sometimes you don’t want any liquid.. then the VITAMIX is the star. I want one.

  11. Rose says:

    I’m happy for you that you had a great vacation. As dedicated to your blog as it seems you are requires that you really enjoy the time you spend away from it. Good for you.

  12. Hello there! This post could not be written any better!
    Going through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He always kept talking about this. I am going to
    send this post to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read.
    I appreciate you for sharing!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] Don’t misunderstand me though; there’s A LOT of variety. Muffins, breakfast breads, and smoothies make their appearance. When I have a little more time, I venture into the waffle and pancake [...]

  2. [...] the void in our kitchen cabinet. Since then, I’ve used the chocolate powder to make Chocolate Protein Ice Cream, that turned out amazingly! The texture was a little more soft compared to using a banana, but the [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

