Avocado and Watercress Salad


Remember that Ethiopian Injera Flatbread? It was pretty, but it tasted horrible. Well, this salad may be it’s exact opposite. The simple green salad above may look unassuming, but it really packs a punch

According to Whole Foods, watercress scores a 1000 (a perfect score) on a nutritional index (link). That means what watercress has enough antioxidants to attack free radicals, add years to your life, and walk your dog. Needless to say, I promptly bought myself some watercress.

Initially, I planned to make a chilled soup that I saw in Bon Appetit, but then I decided that I may be cold-souping my family to death. So, I followed another route. I used the Epicurious application on my iPhone to find this simple Avocado and Watercress Salad, courtesy of Gourmet <3.

Incase you didn’t know watercress is spicier than arugula – punch number one. The “prefect” salad green has a peppery, slightly horseradish-like taste. The second hit comes with the dressing. The flavors are Asian-inspired and include grated apple, onion, and sesame oil. Together, the trio adds a sweet, rich flavor to balance the spice of the greens. Finally, avocado is placed on top for a lush finish – knockout!

Avocado and Watercress Salad

yield: makes 6 servings

active time: 15 min

total time: 15 min

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup rice vinegar (not seasoned)
  • 1 tablespoon grated sweet onion such as Vidalia or Walla Walla (use large holes of a box grater)
  • 1/4 cup finely grated peeled Gala apple (use small holes of box grater)
  • 4 teaspoons soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 6 cups watercress (thin stems and leaves only; from 1 large bunch)
  • 1 ripe avocado
  • Preparation

    Stir together vinegar, onion, apple, soy sauce, and sugar until sugar has dissolved, then stir in oil.

    Just before serving, toss watercress with enough dressing to coat. Quarter, pit, and peel avocado, then cut crosswise into 1/4-inch-thick slices. Gently toss with watercress.

    Comments
    11 Responses to “Avocado and Watercress Salad”
    1. Sounds like a great salad. Thanks!

    2. Chef Dennis says:

      what a perfect salad!! my only suggestion would be add something for colour!! Thats what I tell my students all the time….
      hope you are having a wonderful fourth!!
      Dennis

    3. Wei-Wei says:

      Maybe you should add a bit of colour – I love green, but maybe some toasted nuts for a crunch? Or another component to the salad? I’ve never tried either vegetable (no, not even avocado!) but for some reason watermelon jumped into my head when I thought “colour”. Okay, don’t listen to me, that actually sounds quite gross :P

      Wei-Wei

    4. mysweetseason says:

      That looks loooovely :) I love greens and I love avocado but I can’t get any good ones here.

      I switched blogs from Max in the Gym to My Sweet Season FYI :)

    5. Katherine: What About Summer? says:

      I haven’t had soy sauce in so long. I am now really wanting some avacado and soy sauce mixings. I wish I hadn’t already had dinner!

    6. this would be perfect right now with the weather we’re having. so refreshing!! <3

    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 146 other followers

