Frozen Watermelon-Lime Bars


This is it! This is the dessert that caused a dirty word to slip from my lips. After a year or two on standby, this dessert finally had its turn. At first, my bar was quite architecturally sound . . .

Once I brought it to the grass, it achieved a bit of a slump.

I continued to photograph the thing even after I pierced it with my weirdo, three-pronged fork.

And then I proceeded to take a bite of soft, melty, sweet, lime, slush heaven. This really is the point where you want to eat this dessert, just as you think it’s too far gone.

These bars are ridiculous! :D The lime semifreddo layer has sweetened condensed milk and a lot of fresh lime juice. Like most everything I make, I made these a little bit healthier by reducing the sugar in the watermelon sorbet by half. No one wanted them any sweeter. They were perfect. I also used half and half because I didn’t have cream. My heart is probably happier that way.

If you choose to use cream, you’ll be able to whip it like the recipe suggests. Then, your semifreddo layer will be twice as tall as mine! You win! *As a side note, I attempted to whip my half and half anyway. It sure didn’t achieve “stiff peaks,” but I was able to incorporate some air. *

Frozen Watermelon-Lime Bars

Inspired by Gourmet, but my version. If you follow my steps, you’ll save some calories and you won’t need an ice cream machine.

For Watermelon Sorbet:

  • 1 (2 1/2-pounds) piece of watermelon, frozen
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 1 tablespoon vodka (Clam yourself, there’s 1/12 of a Tablespoon in each serving)

For Lime Semifreddo:

  • 1 (14-ounce) can fat-free sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 teaspoon grated lime zest
  • 1/2 cup fresh lime juice
  • 1/2 cup chilled half and half

Process

Prepare a 8 x 8 pan by lining it with plastic wrap.

Puree the frozen watermelon in a food processor. I let mine thaw for ten minutes first. Then, add the sugar, lime juice, and vodka and combine. Spread the mixture into the pan and smooth. Freeze while making the semifreddo.

Mix the sweetened condensed milk, lime zest, and lime juice in a bowl. Attempt to whip the half and half and then fold it into the milk mixture. Spread the semifreddo evenly over the sorbet and freeze for two hours.

Unmold, cut into 12 squares, and serve on chilled plates.

Comments
121 Responses to “Frozen Watermelon-Lime Bars”
  1. fontgirl says:

    This looks so yummy! I can’t wait to make it and eat it this weekend! Great blog!

  2. yamaonna says:

    omgosh, these look soooo good! I’ll give them a try tomorrow!

  3. bookjunkie says:

    wow you are so young and talented…I think you’ll be the next female Jamie Oliver :)

  4. walterbayliss says:

    WOW!! Thanks – they look fantastic.
    Can’t wait to try them.

    Cheers
    Walt

  5. Todd Pack says:

    That looks really good. Guess I know what I’m doing this evening!

    http://www.toddpack.com

  6. Wow! That looks tasty!!! :-D

  7. Carolyn says:

    Wow. These look yummy. I’m a vegan so I’ll try to modify these using almond milk or vanilla soy milk for the ‘topping’! Eat well, Carolyn

  8. Mir says:

    mouth-watering :))

  9. Yosha says:

    Yum! This sounds delicious! I am waiting for the good watermelons to come out and for the price to be a bit resonable! But I know what I’ll be doing with the first purchase. Being over 21 might try more Vodka too! :)

    Oh thanks for the ice-cream maker (on my list to buy!) free and sugar reduced instructions.

    Cheers,

  10. nuninka says:

    Wow.I think,it good tast.

  11. oasis says:

    Great job.I like it.

  12. Oh wow those watermelon bars look sooo good!

  13. Wei-Wei says:

    You’re amazing. Maybe you could even make them watermelon-slice-shaped :D

    Wei-Wei

  14. tashination says:

    Oh my goodness that’s great. We’ve just been doing the old vodka-infused watermelon – this is taking it to the next level!!

  15. emilydianne says:

    This looks DELICIOUS! I’m totally going to attempt these on my own :)

  16. summersmellslikecutgrass says:

    It’s been extremely hot here lately, and this will definitely cool everyone down! Thanks for sharing!

    P.S. I like your dishes, too :)

    spaghettimonday.wordpress.com

  17. esoileau says:

    You’ve sold me! We Kentuckians are great cooks. :)

  18. Jacqueline says:

    What a phenomenal blog you have, Ms. Cinnamon Roll!! I’m thrilled to have discovered your talents and send heaps of thanks in advance for the watermelon bliss that’s soon to hit my mouth. I hope the culinary industry is fortunate enough to welcome your energy and passion. You’d rock an apron with the best of them!

    Looking forward to upcoming posts and I’ve added you to my (soon-to-be-better organized, she said, crossing fingers) blog roll.

    • Thank you so much! You have no idea how much that excites me, haha. And also, thank you for calling me “miss” . . . I’ve been “mamed” a few times recently – it’s scary!

  19. I wish I had this recipe last time I tried to eat half a watermelon on my own :) Condensed milk is under-used around here – I’ve only tried it for one other dessert so that’s what sold me on trying this as soon as I can.

  20. Brooke says:

    This sounds so good! And they’re pretty with all that pink. Love me some lime in the summertime.

  21. san says:

    That looks really good..hmm…yummy…

  22. Adam Day says:

    Wow looks delicious….I’ll be sending my wife to this page. She would really like this.

    Check Us Out! A Little Place For Some Internet Traffic Road Rage!
    Road Rage with A & A

  23. I’m thinking about making these in honor of National Ice Cream month, my 12th wedding anniversary and for my love of eating. Nice post!

    K of IAFN

  24. Goodie Girl says:

    Those look yummy! Have you tried using Creme Fraiche instead of the sweetened condensed milk? I tend to prefer it over. :) Good job for such a scrumptious summer treat!

    ~GG

    • I haven’t, but I don’t think that it would be a good substitute in this recipe. The creme fraiche doesn’t have the sugar that’s needed to balance the sour lime juice. Plus, it has a lot of fat. . . I do love it though – especially tossed with pasta. :)

  25. jpatel says:

    The whole family loves Watermelon, Lime juice and sweet taste.. so this is my next dessert attempt!!!!Thank you so much

  26. Katherine says:

    Sounds divine! Have this one saved for a hot hot day! :)

  27. Liz says:

    Sounds delish! I love both lime and watermelon, wish I wasn’t allergic to dairy :( I’ll have to try and come up with my own version. Perhaps a coconut lime combo with the watermelon. :)

    -L

  28. Ross says:

    come to my website clubpenguincheats130.wordpress.com

  29. Karin says:

    Very “cool” and unique. Thanks for sharing.

  30. wintersprite1 says:

    Those bars look wonderful…. Thanks for sharing.

  31. alexinspires says:

    Wow they look so delicious! I gotta make those bars! Thanks so much!

  32. This looks very nice! Great idea for the summer!

  33. Robert Bain says:

    I’m so glad it is summer – such an exciting time of year for eating

  34. Geni says:

    Absolutely delicious looking and so refreshing! Congrats on a beautiful blog!

  35. Liv says:

    This looks super! Will definitely have to try it!

  36. houdini says:

    Yummy – will have to try it too – I love both watermelon and lime – perfect!!!

  37. shantara says:

    Those look wonderful!

  38. gmomj says:

    Grat pictures.I am trying this one out tomorrow to preview for a party Saturday!

  39. Wow this looks realy great =) Have to try to make thiseone

  40. Vodka and Ground Beef says:

    Looks delish. My favorite thing is how you told everyone to clam themselves about the vodka.

  41. chefjillm says:

    I am so glad I found your blog, this looks awesome and being that watermelon’s are just coming into season in NJ I can’t wait to try it. Keep up the good work!

  42. CourtandWhit says:

    Woah, those look good! At first I thought the top was like fro-yo. You are such a chef :) Happy monday to ya :)

  43. natinanorton says:

    Congrats on making Freshly Pressed!

    This recipe looks and sounds delicious! Anything with sweetened condensed milk has got to be a winner in my book though. :)

    I tried something similar by blending frozen raspberries and pro biotic yogurt, freezing, then using it as a topping on vanilla ice cream. Tasty!

    Natina

    http://crosswordcharlie.wordpress.com/

  44. Efi says:

    Of it tastes as good as it looks, then you had a very pleasant hour!

  45. niconica says:

    Yum! :) Looks wonderful!

    Cheers, Niconica

    http://niconica.wordpress.com

  46. Amber says:

    Looks like a foodgasm to me- definitely whipping this one out next weekend. Nice Work!

  47. custompaperpoint says:

    hi sami,

    it looks yummy :)

  48. amirafimisr says:

    How about watermelon – mango stuff…….?
    colorful EH?..

  49. raisingable says:

    Looks fun and delicious. Glad you’re learning to cook and cutting down the sugar.

  50. antobahasa says:

    wow..nyam..nyam.. please for enjoy it. Wonderful!

  51. babytyche08 says:

    Looks inviting and scrumptious. I can’t wait to try the recipe and grab a bite of it.

  52. Yum! This is purrrfect for a summer’s day! I think I might just steal the recipe from you and get working on this ASAP!
    Lovely blog :)

  53. amandatucker says:

    sami, i’ll have you know that your blog is what i read while i’m “working”. love your recipes. [: i think we’re going to try these for my sister-in-law’s baby shower. keep this up! and, keep in touch; we should do lunch or dinner or something soon. [:

  54. sweets10inc says:

    Awesome Page! God Bless.

  55. Absolutely – I was. There’s no denying it. . . My motivation to cook comes from so many places though, not only the media. My mother is an excellent cook, and so was my nanny. I try to balance between “real life” and the media. That being said, I watch The Food Network almost everyday. :) I’m also pretty infatuated with food magazines and blogs.

  56. Daisy says:

    look at you chef! congrats on the wordpress shoutout. this is such a fun recipe! mmm.

  57. carynbirch says:

    I am trying these this summer for sure! What a great idea! Kudos!!
    http://www.carynbirch.wordpress.com

  58. Tashaford says:

    these look soooo good! I’ll give them a try tomorrow~~Thank for sharing!

    http://www.espow.com/wholesale-car-electronics-car-review-systems.html

  59. klavonne says:

    As soon as I saw this on freshly pressed the other day I saved it because this was something I had to try. I’m so glad I did because it is delicious! Thanks for sharing!

  60. Morgan says:

    It looks delicious Sami! I can’t wait to try it.

  61. gmomj says:

    I made it.
    It is awesome!
    Come see my version.
    You are right it’s wow factor is way up there.
    I blogged it as you suggested, read about you!
    You are something else girl!
    Have a delicious weekend!

    http://gmomj.wordpress.com/

  62. Andrik says:

    Love the plate, love the photographs and most of all love how deliciously scrumptious that looks. As if its not enough you just had to went and made it sound orgasmic! Great stuff Samantha! I’d be making these badboys within these 2 weeks and you’d see it on my site ;) By the way, it’s really wonderful that you got to step into the kitchen at a young age and scrambled eggs being my favourite, i can only imagine how good grandma’s scrambled eggs are. I’ll keep you updated on my results and keep doing what you love!

  63. My spouse and i have been joyous when Peter could deal with his investigation out of the ideas he obtained from your very own weblog. It’s not at all simplistic to just possibly be giving for free information and facts which often the rest might have been making money from. And we also take into account we now have you to appreciate for that. Most of the illustrations you have made, the straightforward website menu, the friendships your site help engender – it’s all spectacular, and it is assisting our son in addition to our family reason why this subject is awesome, and that is seriously indispensable. Thank you for the whole thing!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] ~Posted by Horiwood.Com, Hollywood California USA. 7.12.2010~ [...]

  2. [...] Comment! This is it! This is the dessert that caused a dirty word to slip from my lips. After a year or two on standby, this dessert finally had its turn. At first, my bar was quite architecturally sound . . . Once I brought it to the grass, it achieved a bit of a slump. I continued to photograph the thing even after I pierced it with my weirdo, three-pronged fork. And then I proceeded to take a bite of soft, melty, sweet, lime, slush heaven. This really … Read More [...]

  3. [...] players included: banana, scooped papaya, lime semifreddo, avocado ice cream, cashew cream, lime zest, and roasted cashews. There’s hardly anything I [...]

  4. [...] watermelon lime bars! here is my take on a teenage gourmet‘s frozen watermelon lime bars that i’m absolutely over the moon about.  make. this. [...]

  5. [...] The busiest day of the year was July 12th with 4,240 views. The most popular post that day was Frozen Watermelon-Lime Bars. [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

