Foodbuzz 24×24: Lightened-Up Peacemaker Po’boys


The po’boy sandwich has long been known as a “peacemaker” sandwich due to its ability to settle tension. After a long night out with friends, men of the bayou would bring a po’boy home to their wifes to stifle  a dispute. With that sort of power, one would imagine that a po’boy must be quite impressive. So then I asked the question, “Does this sandwich have the ability to cure a more significant issue?”

Since the beginning of the Gulf Oil spill on April 20th, clean up efforts have been minimal. Experts have estimated that anywhere from 19 to 39 million gallons of oil have spilled in the past three months. When I thought about what I had done to help the cause, the answer was “nothing,” until now.

Yes, I made this sandwich to help the gulf. Although, that wasn’t my only reason; I would have made it anyway. After skimming the July issue of Martha Stewart Living, this sandwich and it’s peacemaking abilities caught my attention. My family members aren’t in the oyster fan club, but I happen to enjoy them. Nevertheless, I tagged the recipe in my iPhone and decided that this would be a solo meal.

From the beginning to the end, the fate of the Po’boys was in my hands. I selected the oysters, bought the groceries, and followed the recipe. Between the oyster-dredging and oven frying, the recipe as a whole took me thirty minutes. It did seem a bit lengthy for a solo meal, but the result was satisfying.

I ended up with a big, burger-like sandwich that combined a multitude of textures. A creamy rémoulade sauce, crunchy romaine lettuce, and toasted cornmeal oysters piled high. The seafood actually had a sweet taste, so the saltines of the rémoulade contrasts perfectly. Since I always enjoy a little spice, I added some Siricha sauce. That’s not ketchup you see on the bun above. ;)

To compliment the po’boy I added southern cornbread, creamy green beans, and a simple romaine salad. I call this picture, “Green Bean Monster.” And no! That isn’t mayonaisse you see. I thought you knew be better than that. There was greek yogurt, Saigon cinnamon, and crispy shallots on the beans – an excellent idea.

I challenge you to put these recipes to the test because the Lightened-Up Peacemaker Po’boy has the ability to solve a more serious issue than that of the angry wife. By raising awareness and money for the oil spill, this sandwich has already raised $250. Let’s put this peacemaker to the test and see if we can help to solve the oil spill crisis.

Lightened-Up Oyster Po’boys

From Martha Stewart Living magazine. If you don’t enjoy oyster, shrimp and firm fish can easily be substituted, just adjust the baking time accordingly.

Prep: 20 minutes Total: 20 minutes / serves 4

Ingredients

moulade

1/2 cup reduced-fat (2 percent) plain Greek yogurt

3 tablespoons coarsely chopped garlic-dill pickles

2 tablespoons stone-ground mustard

1 tablespoon brine-packed capers, drained, rinsed, and chopped

1 scallion, finely chopped

Oysters

1/2 cup yellow cornmeal

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

3 large egg whites

16 shucked large oysters (8 ounces), preferably Blue Point

Vegetable oil cooking spray

Assembling

4 whole-wheat hamburger buns

3 large romaine lettuce leaves, shredded

Directions

1. Make the remoulade: Stir together all ingredients; refrigerate for 20 minutes.

2. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 400 degrees. Make the oysters: Bake cornmeal on a rimmed baking sheet, stirring halfway through, until pale gold, 10 to 12 minutes. (It may begin to smoke.) Let cool. Transfer to a bowl; stir in cayenne.

3. Heat baking sheet on lower rack of oven for 5 minutes. Meanwhile, whisk whites until frothy but still loose, 1 to 1 1/2 minutes. Add oysters, and mix to coat completely. Dredge each oyster in cornmeal mixture, shaking off any excess; transfer to a plate. (You should use only about 1/2 cup cornmeal.) Generously coat oysters with cooking spray.

4. Line warmed baking sheet with parchment. Transfer oysters, sprayed side down, to sheet. Coat generously with cooking spray. Bake until cooked through and just turning golden brown, 7 to 8 minutes; transfer to a plate.

5. Preheat broiler with rack in top position. Toast buns, split side up, until golden brown, about 1 minute. Divide remoulade evenly among bun halves. Sandwich oysters and lettuce between buns. Serve warm.

Green Beans With Shallots

From Food Network Magazine. Use quality cinnamon because the store brand stuff is absolutely horrible. Please.

Directions

Boil 1 1/2 pounds green beans, 6 to 8 minutes. Drain and cool in ice water, then drain and dry. Toast 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon in a skillet with 2 teaspoons olive oil, 1 minute. Mix with 1/2 cup Greek yogurt and 1 teaspoon salt, then toss with the beans. Toss 2 sliced shallots in flour and fry in the skillet with more oil, 3 minutes; sprinkle on top of the beans.

Comments
32 Responses to “Foodbuzz 24×24: Lightened-Up Peacemaker Po’boys”
  1. Sarah Anne says:

    Great video Sami! I love the photo of the dredged oysters too! I may just try this with some fish this summer, looks like a nice meal to have out on the deck!

    Great cause too!

  2. Sara @ myfancytuna.blogspot.com says:

    I was totally planning on having po’boys this week…awesome, now I have a recipe :D

  3. You are so darling; I love the video. I was very interested when I first saw “Po Boy.” My husband is from Louisiana, but the last Po Boy I ate was in Paducah.

  4. louisianagrown says:

    I’ve never seen a po-boy quite like that down here, but it does look delicious in it’s own right!

  5. Wow this is a great post, you are articulate beyond your years. Great job!

    The Best Chesapeake Bay Oysters are grown on our family farm!

    Quality & Sustainability
    http://www.deltavilleoystercompany.com

  6. i love video recipes!!
    and its a delicious meal for a cause!! wow and a light oyster pro boy!! YUM

    you are so gorgeous me dear <3

  7. Sami, your video is so cute!

    Hooray for being a Foodbuzz publisher. I’ve been in contact with them, too. I’m just still trying to decide if they’re right for me.. I’m lookin’ around and trying to keep my options open. :) How do you like it so far?

  8. hannah says:

    I have never seen nor eaten a po’ boy, but after reading your post they sure look delicious! Your blog is a great fun read, and congrats on Foodbuzz!

    It looks like we’re both going to be seniors in high school next year (i still haven’t really come to terms with it)!!! Check out my blog if you have a free moment http://foodiewanderlust.wordpress.com/ .

    I would love the feedback!

  9. jasmine says:

    look so yummy girl….hmmm

    hi,i’m from Indonesia

  10. Geni says:

    Here you are trying to get all healthy, and me– well I am making Chocolate Malt Cake for my new post! I think you win. It looks delicious!

  11. I never knew the story behind the po-boys! How interesting! :)

  12. Daisy says:

    this is so cool. first of all, i love your southern accent. second of all i love the po boy facts! and third that you are helping raise money for the gulf oil spill. you fam didnt want one of your oyster po boys? are they crazy?

  13. Heather says:

    I’m not an oyster fan either, but you could convince me to try them again if you gave me one of those sandwiches! :) Great work.

  14. EmbraceYourSkin says:

    Hey! I just wanted to let you know that I got the Barney Butter and I am so excited to try it! Thanks again for the awesome giveaway!

  15. I love your accent, so cute!

  16. These look amazing! I’m a huge fan of cooking with Greek Yogurt!

  17. gmomj says:

    Girl you at it again???

    I have to try this one.

    That’s looks a bit much siracha for me though.

    Have a great weekend.

    and here’s one backacha….

    (wish my photo skills were near as beautiful as yours)

    Take care doll,

    gmom

    http://gmomj.wordpress.com/2010/07/20/plank-cooking-salmon-with-mango-is-outrageous/

  18. the useful info u provided do help my research for my company, appreaciate that.

  19. Now that is a tasty looking sandwich!

  20. so many healthy recipes to choose from on the internet;-”

  21. bathtubs says:

    Just the other day, I was sharing your blog with my friend. Good job. It would be nice if more people kept their entries original. Let me know what you think of my blog. Always looking for fresh comments free standing tubs

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. Your Garden says:

    Foodbuzz 24×24: Lightened-Up Peacemaker Po?boys…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

