Zucchini Bread X 2


Life doesn’t always go according to plan. One minute, you think you’ll be 2011′s valedictorian, and the next you’ve cancelled an AP class in favor of being a peer tutor. Next thing you know, you’ll be revealing hidden secrets that you’ve kept for 9 years. The family car, manufactured the same year that you took your first breath, will suddenly fail. And finally, when you go to post your zucchini bread photo’s, you’ll find that your camera has spontaneously deleted every photo from the last three years. Is this a sign?

You want to know what else is weird?

Dad has one of those office jobs with little old lady patients who usually supply us with their extra: sour cherries, potatoes, tomatoes, summer squash, onions, tomatoes, tomatoes, and zucchini. This year, the green squash was nonexistent and I was forced to do something competely unheard of in Kentucky. I paid for zucchini.

The craving for my aunt’s zucchini bread was intense; I had no choice. And without her recipe, I was forced to search the internet for other options. After nixing the chocolate versions, apple additions, and muffin forms, I chose recipes from Smitten Kitchen and Simple Bites.

The first two pictures that I have are Smitten Kitchen’s recipe. It took every ounce of my self determination to leave recipe alone and use the full 1/2 cup of oil and 3/4 cup of sugar, but I succeeded! The result was a sweet and very moist loaf. You can just tell from the pictures alone, can’t you? It was a success, Mom’s pick. :)

The latter two photo’s (AKA the ugly ones) are my preference. Simple Bite’s recipe uses whole milk yogurt, buttermilk, and whole wheat flour. I probably didn’t bake this loaf long enough, but I don’t mind the slightly doughy texture. Compared to the other bread, this one is more crumbly, more moist, and more dense. I like my bread best toasted, with neufchâtel cheese.

To call this past week “life-changing” would be a gross understatement. I’m learning that lesson that everyone has to experience at some point: life is spontaneous. You may be able to control things for a while, but sooner of later your zucchini bread pictures are going to delete themselves.

The important thing is the obvious thing that nobody is saying.” – My tea cap prophecy

P.S. I’m currently writing about “A Teenage Gourmet” for my college essay! Are there any specific post that I should mention? Which ones are your favorites?

Comments
19 Responses to “Zucchini Bread X 2”
  1. Hey, I’m so glad you tried the recipe — and I think your photos rock. ;)

  2. Kim in MD says:

    YUM! They both look amazing! I wish you lived in Maryland, because my mother-in-law’s garden is exploding with zucchini and I would share with you! :-)

    I am a fairly new to your blog, but so far my favorite post is your tomato bread pudding- it is TO DIE FOR! :-)

    I hope school is going well. Sorry to hear that you had to drop an AP course, but it’s great that you are going to be a peer tutor. I’m sure you will still be your class valedictorian!

  3. Matthew says:

    Smitten Kitchen’s Zucchini Bread=AMAZING! :)
    There is no doubt in my mind that you will be the Valedictorian for the Class of 2011.

  4. Wei-Wei says:

    Well, I can definitely see the difference between the SK one and the SB one… I wouldn’t have played with the oil in the first one but maybe with the sugar. ;) Oh, and you know what? I think you should DEFINITELY include that post about your recipe book. The handwritten one. That was epic.

  5. teenagehealthfreak says:

    looks great! i think writing about your blog is a great idea! all of your posts are great i think…..really any post could work! if you can…i would include a picture…b/c they are all so pretty! i like all of the ones that include recipes + pictures! :) they just look well thought out…and like you really put effort into your writing. (unlike me..who has 5 million grammer+spelling mistakes!)

  6. Patti Green says:

    Sami,
    Your recipes all look great, but I do love Zucchini bread! I just may have to try this one!
    Love, Aunt Patti

  7. Nutpi says:

    I just found your blog and i think your photos and posts are very amusing, i will be back on a regular basis!

    My husband hates Zucchini, and I really mean it, it irritates me so much so I am going to bake this delicious looking zucchini bread just to prove him wrong. Thanks for the idea!

  8. Ahhh that sucks about your photos being deleted! That zucchini looks delicious though–love the plate too :) And hmm…I think for your paper it would be interesting to write a bit about how you stick to your healthy lifestyle even though it’s not the “norm” for younger women. At least I don’t think it’s the norm…I didn’t cook and eat very healthfully when I was your age. I think it’s challenging to eat a certain way and stick to healthy habits when you’re out with friends or other people who don’t share your interests and lifestyle choices. So, if you have had any issues with that, it could be an interesting point to touch on :)

  9. mom of teenage gourmet says:

    oh my little boo….there are soooo many excellent posts. My personal favorites are long. 12 hours tomatoes, tomato corn pie, TOMATO BREAD PUDDING (thank you for the 2nd making!), grapefruit brulee, po’boys, FRICASSEE of GAME HEN with VADOUVAN, e-lux banana split, FROZEN WATERMELON BARS, the saga of the blender stories, failed Injera Flatbread, THE DIARIES, Christmas mango salad, broken little pink spoon, porch swing flapjacks, bright beet borscht, strawberry galett, and concord grape sorbet. You are always my valedictorian! Love, mom

  10. Aunt Cari says:

    Hello, Sami! Here is the famous Zucchini Bread Recipe. What makes it special is to NEVER skimp on the spices and I usually go light on the sugar.
    1 1/2 cups of flour
    1 1/2 – 2 tsp of cinnamon
    3/4 – 1 teaspoon of nutmeg
    1/4 tsp baking powder
    1/2 tsp baking soda
    1/2 tsp salt
    3/4 c sugar
    1 cup finely shredded unpeeled zucchini (fresh out of the garden when possible)
    1 egg
    1/4 cup cooking oil
    1/4 tsp finely shredded lemon peel
    3/4 – cup chopped walnuts

    Mix dry ingredients and set aside. In separate bowl mix sugar, shredded zucchini, and egg. Add oil and lemon peel. Mix well. Stir in dry ingredients. Add nuts (and semi-sweet chocolate chips if you want something extra sweet). Bake at 350 for 55-60 minutes or until golden brown. Cool, slice, and enjoy!

  11. My kids love it when I come up with new dishes to cook for them after school and your article gave me a whole bunch of new recipe ideas, thank you!

  12. Nicole says:

    Just browsing, and saw your cherry choc chip recipe that I plan on trying. But, reading this post about made me laugh out loud at work (it’s Friday, what do you want?). I know the feeling about zucchini, and I had a similar situation when I had to pay for rhubarb this year… couldn’t believe that there were probably piles of rhubarb sitting around back home in the farm town I’m from, but it turns out people only going to grow what they eat if they manage to have a garden in the city :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

