Carrot Cake Oatmeal


Happy Labor Day Morning! :)

I may have set a new personal record for the fastest eating to blogging interval; I’m finishing this bowl at I type. I live for mornings where I can sleep a little later and make breakfast a little longer, so I knew exactly what I was going to make this morning – Teenage Health Freak!‘s Carrot Cake Oatmeal.

Well, actually, it’s her mom’s recipe, but that doesn’t make it any less delicious. ;)

Steal-cut oats, those kind that take 30 minutes to cook, are the best thing to use for this recipe. Think of it this way, while you’re waiting for your breakfast to cook on the stove, you could be reading your favorite food blogs! True to it’s name, there’s real shredded carrot. The vegetable is so fine and mellow; it really just gives the oats extra body and smoothness. Applesauce and cinnamon are the only two other ingredients, but toppings are fun to play with. I used coconut butter, shredded coconut, and a splash of maple syrup.

I’ll definitely prepare this breakfast again. It was one of the most creative and comforting bowl of oatmeal that I’ve ever made!

Carrot Cake Oatmeal

Via Teenage Health Freak! I added salt and ground ginger to my bowl. Make sure that your grate your carrot very finely for the ultimate smoothness. As written, this recipe is not very sweet, so feel free to add maple syrup or another sweetener to taste. Next time, I’ll add raisins to the mix.

1/4 cup steal cut oats

1 cup water

1 finely shredded carrot

cinnamon

1/4 cup apple sauce

Possible toppings: shredded carrot, coconut, coconut butter (a must), maple syrup, dried fruit, nuts

Simmer the oats with 1/2 cup of water in a small sauce pan until the water is absorbed. Then, add the remaining 1/2 cup of water, carrot, and cinnamon. Simmer until desired consistency. One minute before serving, stir in the apple sauce to heat. Serve with toppings and enjoy!

P.S. I’m competing in PROJECT FOOD BLOG with FoodBuzz, where I have the chance to be “The Next Food Blog Star.” :) Be on the lookout for opportunities to vote for “A Teenage Gourmet.” I will do my best to keep you updated and give you information.


Comments
18 Responses to “Carrot Cake Oatmeal”
  1. Wei-Wei says:

    Oh my gosh yummmm! I love your eating/blogging divide – I do that sometimes ;)

  2. Ari says:

    Perfect! I just woke up and my mom bought steel cut oats for me the other day. YAY.

  3. mom of teenage gourmet says:

    This looks r e a l l y good….next time will you make some for me :) It beats the sausage biscuits & gravy I made for dad and me this am. (sorry Matt – know it’s one fo your favorites).

  4. teenagehealthfreak says:

    oh yay!! totally a big smile! glad it was good! :)

  5. I adore being able to start my day with a great breakfast, good food, yum ;] I’ve only started eating oats, so have been looking for new ways to dress it up—yours look so sunny! I’d like to try carrot and coconut milk in my next bowl…

  6. Kim in MD says:

    What a fabulous recipe to start the day!

    Congratulations on competing in Project Food Blog with Foodbuzz! Keep us posted on how we can vote for you! :-)

  7. Ciara says:

    O. Coola! This sounds tastey! It the title even makes my taste buds and mouth water! Yumm.. . I might even make it.hmm..

  8. CourtandWhit says:

    Carrot cake oats rock, and yours look scrumptious. Good luck with the competition!

  9. Debby says:

    I love carrot cake , I’m gonna try this oatmeal recipe soon :)

  10. Nicotine : says:

    breakfast foods should always be high in carbohydrates to provide the energy you need in the mornign “

  11. breakfast foods should always be high in protein and also in carbohydrates, we need food energy during the early morning `.~

  12. Carver says:

    I stumbled upon your web blog, i believe your blog post is awsome, keep writing.

  13. My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different
    page and thought I may as well check things out.
    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to going over your web page yet again.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

