Life: Updated


Dear Blog,

I have a lot on my mind; so, let’s combine the “teenage,” and the “gourmet” in this one. My past two weeks have been jam-packed with college tours, study sessions, football games, chlorinated swimming, and (of course) new recipes.

I consider these food photos to be the “lesser quality” of my recent pictures, so they’ve been demoted to collage state. That doesn’t mean that they are less important! See the one of three girls in the middle? That’s Heather from Heather Eats Almond Butter, my best friend, and me at Fido in Nashville, Tennessee.  We had a blogger meeting before I visited Vanderbilt University the next day. :) Heather was incredibly friendly, and she brought me a tasty  jar of pumpkin seed butter. It tastes like pumpkin pie in a jar!

Also pictured is Aarti’s Kale Salad, which I highly recommend. I paired that with Cooking Light’s Autumn Vegetable Curry for an Indian-inspired dinner last week. Both recipes fast enough for a weeknight dinner. Cooking Light also supplied me with the recipes for the Mushroom Patty Melt, Buffalo Chicken Panini, and four different types of banana muffins. Yes. I made four different kinds of banana muffins in one pan: original, peanut butter, chocolate chip walnut,and bananas foster! If you feel like testing your fraction skills, I encourage you to attempt the feat. ;) The square pan is holding Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Blondies, AKA heaven. They were far superior the boxed birthday cake that I made, obviously. The onion imprint is just a cool picture.

Next, I have a pertinent issue to address: the state of Bon Appetit’s photographs. Am I the only person who is appalled by their hideousness? I’m really sorry if someone from the magazine reads this, but I miss the beauty of Gourmet. In honor of my favorite food magazine, my Kale & Bacon Salad photos are reminiscent of Gourmet’s more elegant style. Bon Appetit, I’ll be sending you a letter.

Last but not least, I met Giada de Laurentiis! The Italian beauty came to Kentucky yesterday, and I had the chance to rush to Lexington after my ACT test and ask her some culinary advice. She told me about the internships that The Food Network offers. I’ll be keeping those in mind. :)

Love,

Sami

Comments
18 Responses to “Life: Updated”
  1. Wei-Wei says:

    You met Giada?!?!??!?! I understand about the school stuff – college apps are really bothering so many of the juniors and seniors around me. I guess I’m just going to enjoy sophomore year as it is ;)

  2. itsmygalaxy says:

    It’s great to see you back! I’m also cringing over college apps but hopefully when it’s all over you can post more recipes and I can pitifully try to imitate them :D

  3. Ari says:

    It’s great to see you back! I’m also cringing over college apps but hopefully when it’s all over you can post more recipes and I can pitifully try to imitate them :D

  4. I don’t know if I’m more impressed that you met Giada or that you managed to cook 4 different variations of banana muffins in one pan. ;)

    Everything looks delicious, especially that bacon on your kale salad. Mmm, love bacon so much!

    Hope you’re having a good weekend Sami and not too overwhelmed – you’ve got a lot on your plate these days! I’ll be thinking about ya. :)

    • Heather, I just HAD to test all four types of banana bread, incase anyone needed to know the best kind. ;) (the one with chocolate, duh)
      Thank you thoughts; I may come back to Nashville sometime this week!

  5. Kim in MD says:

    I knew you must be crazy busy, since it had been a while since you posted! You met Giada? Wow…that must have been an amazing experience! I just love her and her recipes!

    The kale salad recipe looks scrumptious! :-)

  6. Courtney says:

    uff, college apps :///
    where are you applying?

  7. Ann Claire says:

    That kale salad looks really good! I’ve been wanting to try one of Aarti’s recipe, that may just be the one. That is so cool that you met Giada!! I”m a bit jealous :)

  8. Hi Sami, the kale salad looks yum. I made (and blogged) an Aarti salad as well…her pistachio dressing one with celeriac. I love her new show. I am jealous you got to meet Giada…she’s one of my favorites of FN. Your life sounds full and exciting…I can’t believe how many dishes you cooked recently. P.S. How was the banana peanut butter muffin? I have that issue to and my daughter is begging me to make the peanut butter banana bread!

  9. dmcgirl37 says:

    so cool you met Giada! I love her show…

    The kale salad looks amazing

    Dana xo

    http://happinessiswithinblog.com/

  10. Faith says:

    I love your blog! I stumbled upon it recently and totally love your recipes and your photography!

    Keep up the beautiful life! ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

