A Special Announcement


I’m especially glad that blogs aren’t graded.  If blogs received checks, percentages, minuses, and red ink, I don’t think I’d be interested.  If blogs held me to my promises of “I’ll post again tomorrow,” I could say “later” to my 4.0.  I’m grateful for understanding readers like yourself, because you would never force me to line up with the crowd. ;)

Speaking of commitments, lent beings this week.  While I’m not an especially devout Catholic, I do enjoy the challenge.  My church believes in either giving up a luxury, or doing something helpful.  In past years, I’ve given up peanut butter (The horror!).  One year I gave up swear words (I used them with a slight, monthly frequency. Wasn’t that cute?).  Once I prayed every single night; that was probably the most helpful.  This year I’m doing something entirely new; I’m going vegan (like this must-try salad).

My motivation for going vegan is multifaceted.  For starters, I feel like my relationship with food is slipping.  Lately I’ve been snacking mindlessly on things like butter-slathered bread and sticky chocolate yogurt, standing up in the kitchen.  I leave with a stuffed stomach, but a hungry head.  I want to try vegan eating in order to force myself to think more carefully about the food that I eat.  Secondly, I’ve been doing research on genetically modified food in school, which is reminding me about the importance of mindful eating.  Sharing my small contribution could lead to a more significant effect.  Lastly, I want to really challenge myself.  While I’m saying “goodbye” to eggs, milk, and yogurt, I’m thrilled to try something new.  The internet is filled with creative vegan recipes that I’ve been wanting to try.

This has nothing to do with anything, but I got a spurtle for Christmas! . . . I’ve been meaning to tell you.

This lentil soup from Molly Wizenberg at Bon Appetit will definitely make it into my Vegan rotation.  It has curry spices and a creamy, rich texture.  It may not look like much, but give it a try!  The lemon adds a bright zing, and now my mouth is watering.

I won’t be able to eat this Cranberry Curd from Cooking Light during lent, but that’s okay with me.  It was kind of pasty anyway.  If you want to try it, go easy on the corn starch.

No more Salted Brown Butter Rice Krispies . . . Mine were fantastic immediately after preparation, but they turned to styrofoam in 24 hours.  Still, these are millions of times better than the original recipe.

I also made Butterscotch Pudding, but it disappointed me too!  On second thought, maybe going vegan won’t be so difficult.  This was a Cooking Light recipe, and it was also kind of bland and pasty.  Theme?

Most obviously, I will not be eating Miso Pork Tenderloin with sautéed mushrooms. The glaze on the left is made from red miso (try it!), apricot preserves, and champagne vinegar.  I made this dinner on a weeknight; it’s really simple.  Actually, it was kind of delicious . . .

Nevertheless, I’m happy to be trying a new “diet.”  I have countless recipes in mind to test.  If you have any great vegan ideas, please share them in the comments! :)

Comments
18 Responses to “A Special Announcement”
  1. Luyi says:

    Good luck Sami! I really like your mindful and thoughtful approach to veganism.

  2. Angela says:

    One of my favorites is Sweet Potato-Split Pea Soup, from Vegetarian Times.

    http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/9642?section=

    Made it several times before realizing it was vegan, only came to that realization after I started attending weekly group vegan dinners.

  3. Great choice on deciding to be vegan for lent!

  4. Jess says:

    BEST OF LUCK!! :D

  5. gmomj says:

    Here ya go girl.
    This is a winner.
    I just might make it myself.
    “The Golden Bowl”.
    AAAWESOME!!!!

    http://www.bigoven.com/recipe/163272/The-Grit-Restaurant-Golden-Bowl

  6. Mindy says:

    Good luck…I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  7. Aunt Denise says:

    I am looking forward to more of your vegan recipes.

  8. Erika says:

    Wow! That’s so cool. Good luck! I don’t even know what I’m going to give up this year yet…last year I gave up Nutella, a few years ago I gave up gum, and one year I prayed every night.

    PS – What camera do you use?

  9. TheCreamFilling says:

    Welcome to the vegan club :)

    • It’s not too difficult! They trickiest thing to avoid is honey, for me. It’s in a lot of the breads that I enjoy. I found a cultured almond milk yogurt that I really like . . . and rice cheese is goooooood. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

