Chocolate Truffle Pie


The easiest way convince someone to eat something vegan?  Chocolate.

I’ve been looking for an excuse to make this chocolate tofu (don’t leave) pie since last summer.  After spotting tofu idea on my blogger-buddie Kelsey’s page, I knew I had to have it.  Believe it or not, there are countless recipes results for “chocolate tofu pie” in a Google search, but I can’t fathom one more clean, simple, and . . . amazinggg!

I mean, this pictures speak for themselves.  I finally found my excuse to make this dessert when I: 1) forced myself to eat vegan and 2) wanted to make a treat for Mom’s birthday.  Mother wasn’t exactly thrilled when I told her that I was going to make her a tofu pie, but she trusted me, like a trooper. ;)  The first step is to make an oatmeal cookie-like crust.  Raw oats, maple syrup, coconut oil, a little liquid, and salt can be whizzed in the food processor in five minutes.  Honestly, the crust is so good on its own that I hesitated to continue with the rest of the recipe.

Once pressed into grandma’s pie plate, you’ll just wipe out your food processor and combine silken tofu, melted chocolate, and maple syrup.  It’s too easy!  Believe me, I had my concerns about the tofu taste shining through, but the taste of this pie is pure chocolate truffle.  The tofu only lends the fudgy texture, and protein, and subs for fattening cream, and makes this vegan, and cuts calories, and eliminates the need for baking, which saves time . . . Oh, and by they way, this is the best chocolate pie that I’ve ever had.

Mom and Dad think so too.

Chocolate Truffle Pie

Adapted from CleanTeenKelsey, who also adapted her recipe.  You can adjust the amount/type of sweetener to your liking.  If you want to make your pie vegan, make sure that your chocolate chips are vegan as well.  I used my favorite 70% chunks from Whole Food’s 365 line. I also used Mori-Nu silken, soft tofu, in case you were curious.

  • package (12 oz) silken tofu
  • 1 (10 oz) package chocolate chips or squares
  • 2-4 TBSP maple syrup, depending on the sweetness of your chocolate chips
  • optional: 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • optional: 1/4 tsp salt

Melt your chocolate in the microwave with 30-second intervals.  Stir after each 30-second break. In a food processor or blender, whirl the silken tofu and syrup together.  Next, take the chocolate and add it to the blender with the optional vanilla extract and salt.  Blend it all together and pour into a prepared crust. (Or the following Oatmeal Cookie Crust!)

Oatmeal Cookie Crust

This recipe is also from Kelsey.  If you have leftover dough, she suggest pressing raisins into the mixture and rolling it into little cookie balls.  Sadly, I didn’t have any extra dough. :(

  • 1 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil, liquefied
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup (chilled) water or non-dairy milk of choice (I used almond milk)
  • 1/8 tsp salt

Directions:

Grind the rolled oats into oat flour in a blender or food processor.  Next, add the salt, coconut oil, and syrup and combine.  Slowly add the  liquid, a little at a time, and blend (avoid making the crust too wet). Once you have a good, dough-like consistency, stop.  Scrape the dough out of the blender (or processor) and press it into a pie pan. (Make sure to grease the pan if you’re baking the crust). Use your fingers to flatten the crust against the sides and up along the edges. Refrigerate till filling is ready.

 

Comments
35 Responses to “Chocolate Truffle Pie”
  1. Cook44 says:

    it looks delicious

  2. The Teenage Taste says:

    Holy YUM! This looks delicious. The pictures really do speak for themselves! I can’t believe how fudgy and almost mousse-like the tofu made it. I’m definitely going to have to make this soon! Maybe for my birthday…? :-)

  3. pat greem says:

    Sounds incredible!

  4. I’m so glad that you enjoyed the pie!! Isn’t it amazing?? It is my go-to recipe when I want to make something impressive and vegan. People are always shocked that it’s made with tofu. I’m really glad you like the crust too, it’s my favorite. :) I love this post!! The pictures are beautiful and make me drool. :)

  5. mom says:

    Thank you for the delectable birthday pie. As usual I should just trust you : ) Loved that you made it in my mom’s old pie plate. I’m so lucky to have you for a daughter.

  6. Mellie says:

    I can’t make myself eat tofu, it just looks too gross! But the crust looks good!

    • It’s not bad; I promise! The first way I ate it was in tofu “egg” salad. Since tofu has the texture of cooked egg whites, I couldn’t even tell. It’s also yummy in curries. ;)

  7. Ari says:

    I don’t have a food processor… alternatives?

    • marctr says:

      I’ve made a similar recipe from Alton Brown (I think he calls it Moo-less Chocolate Pie). His recipe says to make it in the blender which is good because I don’t have a food processor either.

      I also like to add a touch of almond extract, which in my opinion makes everything better!

    • Do you have a blender? . . . I bet an egg beater would work too, because tofu is fairly easy to work into a smooth consistency.

      As for the crust, you may have to go with pre-ground oat flour, or an alternative crust. Good question!

  8. Carolyn H. says:

    I fool my in-laws every holiday with a Chocolate vegan pie. I love every second of watching them eat it.

  9. Mmmm. I’m drooling :)

  10. Eva says:

    Looks gorgeous, and sounds delicious. I love the presentation with the blood orange spirals, such a nice touch :)

  11. Lindsay says:

    I would love to make something like this for my family, but I dont think I could sneak it past them. My mom cannot stand tofu and she says that she can tell when it is in food. I used to have tofu in the house all of the time, but since she cant stand the stuff I dont keep it in the house as much!
    BUT I might have to make this for me and my friends! :)

  12. Peggy says:

    Hello Sami,
    Nice job and glad your mom loved it too. Impressed that you used your grandmother Jessie’s pie tin. Your are super.
    Lotza love and hi to all.
    Aunt Peggy

  13. get in my belly!! You have such gorgeous pictures!

  14. i’m so impressed! this looks so delicious….and vegan.:)

  15. Rachel says:

    Hi! I made this pie last week and it was a hit. Personally, I didn’t love the crust, and I think next time I’ll just make it without and put it into small dishes to be eaten like mousse. The texture was definitely great and was kind of like mousse anyway. Would be awesome with orange, mint, or coffee flavor too.

    Another nice vegan cake is chocolate avocado cake. There are several similar recipes floating around on the internet. No one could tell it wasn’t just regular chocolate cake when I made this (I never make the fluorescent green icing, hehe).

    I love your blog!

    • I bought some avocados today, so I can try this cake you’re talking about. :) Also, I’ve made a couple of chocolate avocado puddings that have been divine! I’m sorry that you didn’t love the crust; it is a little on the health-nut side. ;) Thank you for your feedback. I think that I’ll try mint if I make this again!

  16. kitchenfairy says:

    Just made this today, and I have to say I’m was blown away by how good this is!!
    It’s amazing how the ingredients come together and make something really delicious.
    It got rave reviews from everyone! Thanks for the recipe!!!

  17. Haley says:

    This is soooo good! I made it yesterday as a test run for my graduation party and when I went to the fridge to get a piece, it was gone! My family thought that the tofu would be weird in it, but they were all super impressed. I added toasted coconut and almonds to the top. So good :)

  18. walker king says:

    ’so impressive! this looks so delicious… :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

