Marksbury Farm: Local Market & Butcher Shop


 Prepare yourself for some unbearable irony.  Here, for the past month or so, I have been touting the wonders of Veganism: no meat, no dairy, no animal.  What could be irresistible enough to force this meat-filled interruption?  Did my cravings for Greek yogurt and lamb chops finally get the best of me?  We will get to that later. :)  For now, I simply cannot wait any longer to share this place with my Kentucky readers.  They must see!

This is Marksbury Farm; and Marksbury Farm the best thing to happen to my area in the past 18 years; and Marksbury Farm is not paying me to say this. :)  (The links are the website, Facebook, and Twitter respectively).  After a mere three-minute drive from my front porch, I can open a glass door to this:

It’s kind of, sort of, completely awesome.  I’m not the biggest carnivore around, but I love the fact that these 100% local meats are available to my community.  Everything in the case is raised humanely in the Bluegrass!  The variety seems endless with options like Italian meatballs, Canadian bacon, and Shepard’s Pie.  Fresh eggs are always stocked, and the cooks constantly experiment with new recipes like Chicken Tikka and Kentucky Burgoo.  The butcher-to-buyer relationship is great because it cuts out the middle man.  If customers request hard-to-find cuts and preparations, their wish will likely be granted.

Lately I tend to hang out around this case.  A few steps from the front door, seasonal vegetables and local Kenny’s Cheese fill another chill chest. (FYI: Kenny’s Brie is the only Brie allowed at the Kentucky Derby, or so I’ve heard).  For those of you in places like California and New York, keep in mind that before Marksbury, we hillbillies had to shop at Wally*World.  This is a miracle!

Marksbury functions like a farmers’ market in that local producers bring their goods to this hub.  Marksbury supplies the meats and the building, and then bakers, cheese-makes, millers, dairy farmers, and countless other contributors bring their products to sell.  Almost everything in the store boasts the “Kentucky Proud” label, and prices are lower than Whole Paycheck!

See me? :)  The milk is non-homoginized, with retains nutrients and creaminess.

Here’s my  summer swim coach!

Time to checkout.

It’s a very happy place. :)

If you ever come near central Kentucky, promise me that you’ll support my new favorite store!  Since opening earlier this year,  this place has been buzzing with a constant flow of customers. (A difficult feat around here.  Lots of fledgling businesses go under pretty quickly).  In February, Marksbury showed me and a few other food bloggers around its meat processing facility.  As someone with the inside info, I can assure you that this is where you want to buy your food.  It’s local.  It’s ethical.  It’s delicious.

If you’re still wondering, did she break down and eat a lamb chop?  The answer is “no.”  I have iron willpower! :)  I will, however, be reserving some for Easter!

P.S.  I got a new camera!  Can you tell? 

Comments
32 Responses to “Marksbury Farm: Local Market & Butcher Shop”
  1. Yum!! I haven’t yet checked out the local butcher shops around here but yours looks awesome. And the place looks so beautiful too! If I’m ever in KY I’ll have to check it out.

  2. theflourishingfoodie says:

    This place looks incredible! I would love have something like that near me!

  3. mom says:

    The only thing better than going to Marksbury is reading your adorable Marksbury post. We are so lucky to have it only minutes away.

  4. Great post! It was nice meeting you at Marksbury earlier this winter! We’ll have to meet up again. Maybe we could do a big old Kentucky Proud Cookout!! – Can’t wait to hear about your final days of veganism. :)

  5. Jess says:

    Local butchers are the best!! I love local products <3

  6. Mindy says:

    The pictures are great! What kind of camera did you get? I was at Marksbury on Wednesday, and it didn’t have all of that stuff–I’ll need to get back for some herbs! I’m so glad growing season is picking up–that means more produce! And I second Melissa–we need to all try to get together this summer sometime!

  7. karyl33 says:

    Have you read Aminal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver? I think you might like it. It’s about eating local.

  8. Danielle says:

    I’ve got to get to this place! After reading your, Melissa, and Mindy’s posts, I’ve hardly been able to contain my excitement! I’m so used to reading about places like this, only to find out the place is located 10 states away. Who knew little old Danville would be the home to such a great little find?

    By the way, I was noticing as I read your post how great your photos were. Then I read that you got a new camera. Nice work!

    Oh and as a fellow KYian, I’m all about the summer KY Proud cookout!

    • This cookout already has 4 participants. I think that’s enough to call it a deal. :)

      Thanks for letting me know about the photo effect. I literally just opened the camera before I took these pictures. I’m so happy that you enjoyed them.

  9. The Teenage Taste says:

    Your pictures look beautiful! Marksbury Farm looks like a great shop, I’m kinda wishing I lived closer to Kentucky! ;-)
    Glad you’re still holding strong with your vegan promise! Are you going to do a recap after Easter about what your thoughts are about the vegan diet, any changes you’ve noticed, etc? I’d really like to read it! I’ve thought about going vegan for a week or so a few times just for fun. I love experimenting with different foods, etc. :-)

  10. tim says:

    Hi

    Nice article. I do the website for marksbury farm. Richard asked me to ask you for permission to use some of these images on the site, with attribution, if you like.

    reply to me directly at timungs [at] marksburyfarm.com

    Thanks,

    Tim Ungs

  11. Your pictures are AMAZING!!! :D

    I love cinnamon and pecans in cinnamon rolls! :D

  12. WOW what an amazing place! I would definitely go there is I was in Kentucky! Reminds me of my local farmers market but on a much LARGER scale. I love how all the meats are “blue grass” fed! Awesome!

  13. Jennifer says:

    Oh my goodness! That bread looks incredible! It’s absolutely perfect. What a quaint gorgeous place! I’d want to buy everything in sight. Nice find!

    I just found your blog. Beautiful pictures and really great writing! You have a bright future ahead of you!

  14. Sharon says:

    What a nice article about this wonderful place. I live in Garrard Co. and I can’t believe we are lucky enough to have a place like this. I have been stopping by your blog for several months now and didn’t realize that we lived this close. Love your blog and love Marksbury Farm. Supporting our Kentucky Proud products is very important.

  15. I every time spent my half an hour to read this website’s content everyday along with a mug of coffee.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] out A Teenage Gourmet, a terrific blog by a young Kentucky foodie in [...]

  2. [...] possessed me to try Chicken Liver Pâté?  France, my job, Grandma, and Nanny, but mainly my job.  Weekend after weekend, I watch sweet little ladies [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

