The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies in the World


I have no shame in saying it: these are the best chocolate chip cookies, ever.  I say so with confidence because I’ve tested them four times.  I’ve eaten dozens of them, and I’ve enlisted the opinions of countless taste-testers!

I’m sure that you’re familiar with the saying “Desperate times call for desperate measures.”  Today is one of those times.  In the midst of high school graduation, a deployment to Iraq, and starting a new job (at Marksbury Farm!),  I could use the best chocolate chip cookies in the world. ;)

This recipe is amazing for a few reasons.  First,  both brown and white sugar are used.  Brown lends a chewy element while white keeps the cookies nice and crisp.  Secondly, two teaspoons of kosher salt are used.  Yes, that sounds like a lot of salt.  Use it ALL!  The salt works to elevate the chocolate flavor, and the little crystals hit all of the high notes.

Before baking, these cookies can be scooped onto sheets (Do NOT freeze in the bowl.  I made that mistake. :) ) and frozen for one hour.  The freezing process creates a thicker cookie, at the dough has less fluidity to spread before it sets.  The thick cookie has crisp edges and a nice, hearty thickness.

Honestly,  this particular batch is not as beautiful as usual because we flattened the dough balls with the back of a spatula before baking.  I recommend skipping this step.  That way, you will end up with glorious cracky trenches along the surface of each biscuit.  It’ll be beautiful!  And did I mention that two kinds of chocolate are involved?  Milk & Dark work together, each contributing its own best qualities to an ultimate cookie whole.

You know these are good when I’m willing to put a picture like this on the internet to showcase the cookie happiness, really.  The double sugar action, bonus salt, and freezing time contribute to the goodness, but the best part about this recipe its nearly life-saving capabilities.  I have yet to see a friend taste these without a smile (a big smile) sweep a face.  He & I like them best just after they’ve cooled, dunked into fresh milk.  These dessert have so much absorption power that you can literally drink milk out of the cookies; it’s fun!

Am I sure that these chocolate chips are the best? . . .  100%

I plan on using these as a tool for the rest of my life.  Graduating high school?  Cookies will bring childhood back!  Best friend deployed to Iraq?  Cookies will save him!  Tired from working all day?  You need some cookies.

P.S.  Today is my 1-year Blogiversary! 

 

The Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

Via Martha Stewart.  If you’re a fan of walnuts, adding 2 cups of toasted nuts isn’t a bad idea.  Just stir them in with the chocolate chips.  Stored in an air-tight container, these will last one week (but really they won’t).  This recipe will make 24 cookies; share them!

Ingredients

  • 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled)
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons coarse salt
  • 1 1/4 cups (2 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 1/2 cups packed light-brown sugar
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cups milk chocolate chips
  • 8 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped

Directions

  1. In a bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.
  2. In a large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat butter and sugars on medium-high until light and fluffy, 6 minutes. Reduce speed to medium-low and beat in eggs, one at a time. Beat in vanilla. Mix in flour mixture just until incorporated; fold in chocolate chips and chunks.
  3. Using a 1/4-cup ice-cream scoop or a large spoon, drop dough onto a parchment-lined baking sheet (you should have 24) and refrigerate 1 hour. Preheat oven to 350 degrees, with racks in upper and lower thirds. Arrange 6 unbaked cookies, 3 inches apart, on each of two parchment-lined baking sheets. Bake until edges are light golden brown, 17 to 18 minutes, rotating sheets halfway through. Transfer cookies to a wire rack and let cool. Bake remaining dough using new parchment.
Comments
30 Responses to “The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies in the World”
  1. Peggy says:

    I’m always a sucker for when a recipe says they’re the “best chocolate chip cookie”… trust me, I try them all – and with all their differences, I usually say they’re all the best lol Happy Blog Anniversary, too!

  2. mom says:

    Happy Blogiversary! I’ve loved reading every one. And YES these are the best chocolate chip cookies ever, guaranteed.

  3. Patti says:

    I’ll have to try them. Chocolate Chip are my very favorite! My how times flies! I remember seeing your Grandma’s china in one of your first blogs, it may have been the first blog. I’m not sure. Keep up the great work!

  4. Brenda P says:

    I’ll try them, but my audience is very picky!

  5. Jess says:

    My family would ADORE this, so would I :D

  6. This looks so delicious. I love when there is a combination of both sugars!

  7. gmomj says:

    You know me Sammi. I’m your biggest stalker/fan!!
    I’ll be making these!

  8. Mellie says:

    I already have a really good chocolate chip cookie recipe, but these look even better! I’ll have to make them soon.

  9. Juliannna says:

    The cookies look delicious! I am sure that I will make them soon.
    Happy Blogiversary!

  10. Danielle says:

    I’m always on the hunt for the perfect CC cookie, so I can’t wait to give yours a try.

    Congrats on your graduation and new job. Maybe I’ll get to meet you there if I ever make it down there.

  11. Serena says:

    Happy Blogiversy, and congrats on you graduation AND your new job! So exciting :) Those cookies definitely look amazing. Thanks for the sweet comment on my blog!

  12. theflourishingfoodie says:

    Happy blogger anniversary! Congrats on the job and Marksbury Farm, you definitely deserve cookies :)
    Sending prayers for your friend who is being deployed!

  13. Great job on making it through a year with your blog! :)
    Those cookies look fantastic

  14. Kim in MD says:

    Happy Blogiversary and congratulations on your graduation! The cookies look and sound amazing, and I love the photo of you and your boyfriend! You both are too cute! :-)

  15. Hi thgere pals, fastidious article and nice urging commented
    at this destination, I’m really taking pleasure in byy these.

    Good site! I really love how it is simple on myy the data and eyes are well written. I’m wondering how I might
    be notified whenever a brand new post has been made.
    I have subscribed to your feed which must do thhe trick!
    Have a nice day!
    Great post! We are linking to this great article on our site.

    I’m impressed, I have actually tto admit. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both interesting
    andd educative, and without a doubt, you’ve strike the nwil on the head.

    Please check more great information at http://tiny.cc/7z3tlx

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] College friends:  the pâté will never touch your cookies. [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

