Zucchini Spaghetti


 When I posted about Avocado Cream Sauce, I told you how delicious the recipe was with Zucchini Spaghetti.  After dinner at a Mediterranean grill, where I was serve raw zucchini pasta, I started toying with the idea of a flexible version.  Luckily for me, my very first attempt was successful!  To make Zucchini Spaghetti you will need a vegetable julienner.  Now, I don’t actually expect everyone to have one of these convenient, handheld tools.  So, for Zucchini Fettuccine, you can use a vegetable peeler instead. ;)

 Breaking down a large specimen is a quick process.  Really, it only takes a minute or two.  While the julienner is in action, you can start heating up a medium sautée pan with a tablespoon of olive oil, minced garlic, and red pepper flakes.  By the time you’re done with the zucchini, and snacking on the ends, the pan will almost be ready for action.

When the oil is hot, add the zucchini strands and a pinch of salt and pepper.  Swirl the pan for a minute or two, until the reach your desired tenderness.  I like mine bendy like true spaghetti, but still fresh.  When it looks good to you, remove from the heat and serve immediately with a squeeze of lemon.  This dish is vegan as is, but parmesan cheese is a good addition!  Feel free to add or subtract any flavorings that you’d like.  This is only a method (and a really good way to use a garden full of squash!)

Zucchini Spaghetti

A Teenage Gourmet original!  This recipe serves one, and it’s vegan.

  • 1 large zucchini
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • red pepper flakes
  • lemon juice
  • freshly grated parmesan cheese (optional)
  • salt & pepper
Heat a medium sautée pan over high heat with the oil, garlic, and red pepper.  Meanwhile, julienne or peel one entire zucchini, except the seedy core.  When the oil is hot, add the zucchini to the pan along with a generous pinch of salt and pepper.  Cook and stir for a couple of minutes, until the squash becomes tender like strands of spaghetti.  When ready to serve, plate and add lemon juice and cheese to taste.  Be amazed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
26 Responses to “Zucchini Spaghetti”
  1. Brenda P says:

    This sounds amazing and simple! Can’t wait to try it.

  2. theflourishingfoodie says:

    This delicious, so fresh and healthy too. I could use my veggie peeler, but I’d rather go out and buy a julienner, I think I have a problem when it comes to kitchen gadgets….oh well :)

  3. Jess says:

    This sounds like the PERFECT summer dinner :D

  4. I just discovered your blog and I am so glad I did! You are full of healthy inspiration for me! I decided to turn my eating around, meeting the healthy-focused from the other side of the spectrum. Turns out eating ONLY celery and lettuce is not all that healthy either! But I can only handle so much at this stage and recipes like this one will help me lots! I will continue to browse through your recipes because I find them most delightful! Thanks!

    • Thank you so much. I took a look at your blog, and it gave me chills. I can relate to almost everything that you post, and it’s incredibly brave of you to be so honest with yourself. I found your Capricorn post especially intriguing because I’m a Capricorn. ;) I really do hope for your strength. Please stay in touch.

  5. Jen H says:

    Great take on a vegan and gluten free spaghetti and so healthy! I’ll absolutely be making it this summer! Thanks for sharing!

  6. The Teenage Taste says:

    This zucchini spaghetti sounds (and looks!) delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  7. I have yet to try zucchini pasta! Oh, how I would love to, though. It sounds so good. I have a veggie peeler, so maybe I just need to do it.

    • It’s even better than it sounds, actually. Kelsey, it’s good to hear from you! You won’t believe this, but I still haven’t used that Teff flour. Now I have my own Vita, haha. I really need to make that recipe again!

  8. Apron Appeal says:

    I eat zucchini like it’s going out of style. I can’t wait to try this under my curry chicken. Also, congrats on your high school graduation. I should be so lucky if one of my kids ends up being a foodie.

    • I found the BEST zucchini recipe (rivals this one) in the most recent issue of Bon Appetite. It’s simple, with lemon, garlic, and parmesan, but it is DIVINE. If you love zucchini, please hunt that recipe down. :)

  9. teeneatlive says:

    I love zucchini pasta! I had it for the first time at a veggie restaurant in NYC and ever since, it’s been one of my favorite summer dishes!

  10. ericascime says:

    Oh my, I am making this either tonight or tomorrow. It looks incredible.

  11. gmom says:

    Finally got around to making this Sammi. Awesome!

  12. Yum! Thanks for the recipe. I made this for dinner tonight as we haven’t done the weekly groceries and had limited ingredients but big appetites as it’s so cold. Perfect!

  13. If you are going for finest contents like I do, just
    pay a visit this website daily because it offers
    quality contents, thanks

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] started the other day when I saw this recipe for zucchini pasta – which isn’t actually pasta – at the Teenage Gourmet. I love [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

