What’s the story, Morning Glory?


 I don’t know how you feel about muffins and quick breads.  Personally, I’m addicted, especially when the recipe is healthy.  If a title has the words “ginger” or “carrot cake” or “whole wheat” included, I’m likely scouring my refrigerator for the ingredients already.  You should see my bookmarked recipe list.  It’s embarrassing, disproportionately skewed towards the breakfast bread categories.  [Statistics teacher: be proud of that terminology.]

I’ve waited so long to get to this recipe [Thanks AP tests] that parsnips and carrots are out of season.  Nevertheless, I want to share it with you because – um – it’s incredible!  This is the craziest mixture of a muffin that I have ever heard of, stolen from the amazing blog Hogwash.  Jess posts amazingly creative recipes like Brown Sugar-Buttermilk Buckwheat muffins and omelettes made with greek yogurt.  It’s cool!

Now, this recipe.  These are called “A New Morning Glory Muffin,” because that’s what they are. But I call them “Carrot and Parsnip muffins” . . . because that’s what they are.  The original article writes about the diversity of these weirdo breakfast breads, and it seems true.  People stick everything from parsnips to sweet potatoes to zucchini into these sweet cakes, and they still turn out well.  That being said, don’t let the vegetables scare you from this healthy recipe.  Millet, quinoa, cornmeal, and flax seed [Eeeek!  Don't be scared.] also make these muffins one of my all time favorites.  The texture is a little dense, and very moist.  Toasted with butter or cream cheese, it’s the ultimate healthy breakfast.

Look!  The sun is up. ;)

P.S.  I have seen so many different versions of “Morning Glory” muffins.  Do you know the traditional?  Do you have a great muffin recipe?  Please let me know!

A New Morning Glory Muffin

From Jess at Hogwash.  After I made these once, I couldn’t stop thinking about them!  It’s worth buying the red quinoa and millet if you need it because both grains are versatile and delicious . . . and healthy, of course.  The protein of the quinoa keeps me satisfied until lunch!

TIME: 30 minutes
MAKES: This recipe makes enough batter for 12 unlined muffins tins, heaped full, or 12 lined muffins plus 12 lined mini-muffins.

Vegetable oil spray or muffin liners
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup raw millet
1/4 cup raw quinoa (red or regular)
1/4 cup coarse yellow cornmeal
1/4 cup flaxseed meal
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 cup (packed) brown sugar (or up to 3/4 cup, to taste)
3/4 cup plain yogurt (or sour cream)
1/2 cup milk
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly
1 cup grated carrots (from 3 medium carrots)
1 cup grated parsnips (from 3 large parsnips)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray a 12-cup muffin tin with the vegetable oil spray (or line a 12-cup tin and a 12-cup mini tin with cupcake liners), and set aside.

Stir the next ten ingredients (through brown sugar) together in a big bowl. In a smaller bowl, whisk the yogurt, milk, eggs, and vanilla to blend. Stir in the melted butter.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients, and stir to blend. (The batter will be stiff.) Fold in the carrots and parsnips.

Divide the batter between the muffin cups – a heaping 1/4 cup for regular (lined) muffins, or heaping tablespoons for mini muffins. The batter won’t rise much, so don’t be shy. Bake 20 to 25 minutes for regular muffins, or 15 to 18 minutes for mini muffins, until the muffins are puffed and firm to the touch in the center. Cool 5 minutes in pans, and enjoy warm, if possible. Store any remaining (cooled) muffins in an airtight container at room temperature, up to three days.

 

 

Comments
28 Responses to “What’s the story, Morning Glory?”
  1. Inge says:

    OMG this is really one of the crazy-iest (or how you say it) recipes I have ever seen. But I think I like it ;)
    Will bookmark it in my ridiculous long list of recipes to try,

  2. Mellie says:

    Yum! I love muffins and quick breads too. But sadly, most of the ones I bake aren’t healthy. I’ll have to give this one a try.

  3. Jess says:

    I’ve NEVER had a morning glory muffin before. I must change that fact ;) Those look SUPERB!!

  4. wow! that looks so moist and scrumptious! i am absolutely going to make this recipe soon!

  5. marctr says:

    I have a favorite muffin recipe, but it is simple and not particularly healthy. Probably not even worth sharing but you asked, so I will! Maybe you can improve upon it–that would be awesome. I’ve experimented with whole wheat but not successfully, too dry and it overpowers the spice. Maybe a vegetable is just the thing…

    French Breakfast Puffs

    1 1/2 c flour
    1/2 c sugar
    1 1/2 t baking powder
    1/4 t nutmeg (I do heaping because this is why I love the muffins!)
    1/8 t salt
    1 egg, beaten
    1/2 c milk
    1/3 c melted butter

    Mix dry ingredients, then mix in wet ingredients. Grease 12 muffin cups or line with paper cups. Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes. While hot, top with melted butter mixed with cinnamon sugar.

  6. Mira says:

    it’s amazing to hear that someone else shares my obsession with muffins! every computer in the house is bookmarked with dozens of healthy muffin recipes :P i love your blog and especially since it’s made by another teenager

  7. mommy says:

    Sami, my very favorite part of this post is the first photo. How very clever of you to mimic the sun with the muffin paper . . . I love it :) Where do you get these ever so clever ideas??

  8. Mellie says:

    come to my blog and see what I have for you.

  9. Oh my gosh. I WANT THAT!!!!!!

  10. Tara says:

    I love all the variety!! Parsnips are soooo good, I can’t wait until they come back in season. We always eat morning glory muffins at christmas brunch. I’m definitely adding parsnips next time!

  11. Serena says:

    Woah, those are some studmuffins! I adore healthy muffins that don’t skimp on flavor. Bookmarked! =D

  12. Stephanie says:

    those muffins look amazing!

  13. Sarah Anne says:

    I woke up, checked this post out, and made these immediately. Unfortunately I used all carrot because I didn’t have any parsnips. Did you find the millet a bit crunchy? I think next time I’ll cook the millet so my husband won’t make a face when eating them and go for the parsnip so they are sweet enough for him.

    I like them with a bit of butter and a dusting of maple sugar! Thanks for sharing!

  14. Yum! I’m exactly the same, carrots deffinatly a fav for me too. I’v just stumbled across your blog and I’m loving it! Teen cooks unite! Haha.(:

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] always relied on the classic King Arthur recipe, but I’m flirting with A Teenage Gourmet’s amped-up version of the awesome original. She has somehow managed to work millet, quinoa, flaxseed, and cornmeal [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

