Lemon Curd for Mom


T

This is my mommy!  Isn’t she beautiful!?  Do we look alike?  I think we do.

Among many other vitally important things, Mom imparted her love of lemons to me.  This lemon adventure started wayyy back when with Yoplait “Lemon Thick & Creamy” yogurt.  If you search for this delicacy online today, you will fail.  Too many years ago, Yoplait stopped making their best flavor (fools!) and ended this household’s lemon yogurt love. Memories, Yoplait!  You killed memories.

 << Here I will add that YoPlait Thick & Creamy yogurts are – today – disgusting to me. They are filled with corn syrup and sugar and artificial flavors.  No thank you.  I have matured. >>

I have moved on to greener pastures! . . . with real lemons.

This is a recipe that I love, and it’s from Gourmet!  I first made it for my mother’s 28th birthday, 2 years ago. ;)

Originally, this curd was designed to fill an almond tart shell, which I did.  However, since the curd dramatically outshines the crust in every way, I decided to skip the crust and jump straight into lemon lusciousness!  Over the past couple of years, I’ve made this recipe at least ten times.  Each time is different.

Sometimes I remove all of the butter and use only olive oil; that’s fruity and wonderful!  Sometimes I remove egg yolks and add egg whites; that’s works too!  Almost always, I cut the sugar in half.  And guess what!  It’s still amazing, not too tart, perfect for Mom & me. Most recently I decided to completely omit the corn starch in favor of a drip-able version for . . . yogurt!  Yoplait, you kept me from lemon lusciousness for far too long.  Never again.

The more you practice with this recipe, the more you’ll learn to adjust the ingredients to you preferences.  In the above picture, the blob on the left has only olive oil for a smooth, silky texture.  On the right, I added butter, which results in an airy and firmer curd.  Both are great, and you can even omit the fats altogether if you want to make your lemon curd extra healthy.

And oh!  I almost forgot.  I’ve even made this with limes, so I imagine that grapefruit and orange would work as well.  If you’ve been searching for a lemon curd recipe, do not look any longer.  This is the one!

Olive Oil Lemon Curd

Here’s the original recipe as printed in Gourmet Magazine.  I usually cut the sugar in half; it’s not too tart for me!   You can also omit the butter without a problem.  Go even further and omit both fats if you please.  For a saucy-like consistency, don’t use corn starch.  However, for the most sunshiny color, you will need those egg yolks. :) 

For lemon curd:

  • 3 large lemons
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 2 whole large eggs plus 2 large yolks
  • 1/2 stick unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
  • 2 tablespoons fruity olive oil (preferably French)

Make curd:
Grate enough zest from lemons to measure 1 tablespoon, then squeeze 3/4 cup juice from lemons.

Whisk together lemon zest and juice, sugar, cornstarch, whole eggs, and yolks in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil over medium heat, whisking constantly. Boil, whisking, 2 minutes.

Remove from heat and whisk in butter and oil until smooth.

One last note: If your curd is bumpy, feel free to strain it through a fine sieve while still warm.  This will remove any eggy pieces, and also the zest. 

Comments
23 Responses to “Lemon Curd for Mom”
  1. mom of t.g. says:

    You had me at LEMON! Who needs boring birthday cake when zesty lemon tart will WOW you. I sooo love, LOVE this stuff, my sweet adorable boo. Thank you for the lemon curd, the memories and the post (which brought a tear to my eye). Oh, how I’m going to miss you when you leave for college (bring on the kleenex).

  2. Yum! Store-bought lemon curd never does it for me. This sounds great!

  3. Leslie says:

    Yes, your mommy is beautiful. She is even prettier in person. You guys are some of my favorite people. I wish we could see you more often!

  4. Mellie says:

    You had me at lemon! :)

  5. Patti says:

    Loved seeing the pic of your MOM. She is an awsome lady.

  6. The Teenage Taste says:

    Mmmmm…this looks fabulous! :-)

  7. myFudo says:

    Your mum looks beautiful. Love the way your lemon curd turned out great. Love this post. Am your new follower.

  8. Lemon Curd — that is so cool! And your mother is absolutely beautiful! Just like you!

  9. Peggy says:

    Oh I can just imagine all of the possibilities for this lemon curd! Great base-recipe that can be easily adapted, for sure!

  10. MC says:

    I will look no further for a lemon curd recipe! Also, if you are still interested in a store-bought lemon yogurt, there is one that is fabulous by the brand Liberty. It’s greek yogurt with incredible lemon flavor.

  11. Chris Chang says:

    I stumbled upon your blog since I was just thinking about making a lemon meringue pie this morning. But I was more excited for the lemon curd part :P I’ve only made it once before, but I’m definitely going to try it again and will try this recipe! It sounds great! and i wish you the BEST in college! I just graduated, so reading your blog brought back memories!

  12. Meaghan says:

    Is this the same lemon curd from the olive oil lemon curd tart? I have made that twice and it is always a crowd pleaser

  13. Sarah Anne says:

    My goodness Sami! I just made this! DELICIOUS! I have some variations already on the brain! Thanks for sharing!

  14. cakeforbreakingthefast says:

    i really like the healthier options, i’ll be trying it out! I actually just upped a recipe for citrus curd profiteroles to my blog if you’re interested! http://www.cake-for-breakfast.com/
    xx Hannah

  15. side effects says:

    We absolutely love your blog and find the majority of your post’s to be exactly I’m looking for.
    Do you offer guest writers to write content for yourself?
    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on a number of the subjects you
    write with regards to here. Again, awesome blog!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] Olive oil lemon curd @ Teenage Gourmet [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

