Philosophical Carrot Cake


Yes, I’m aware. I just made mini muffins. Grandma’s little pan barely had a chance to cool off before I poured in more batter and baked up these babies. Truthfully, this recipe wasn’t even planned! It wasn’t typed into my iPhone’s “to-make list.”

But what am I supposed to do when I have three over-ripe bananas just sitting around? Seriously. I’ve made so many banana breads: 1 from Simply Recipes, 2 from Martha, 2 from cookbooks, 3 from Cooking Light, and 3 from blogs. Those are only the ones that I remember. I’m not the type to repeat a recipe, only if it’s absolutely amazing.

Last night, I was looking for a different approach. I clicked across my own favorite blogs and then I came to this carrot cake. Bingo, different! Surprisingly, this recipe calls for three bananas. And because it has three sweet tropical fruits, and a handful of dried dates, it doesn’t have any added sugar. That’s right, no refined sugar, another bonus if you ask me.

With the help of my cumbersome food processor, shredding the carrots was an easy job. Chopping the dates into a paste was actually easier than it sounds, just makes sure that you use the moist medjool dates, they are far superior. I actually giggled at the step when you add the dates to the melted butter, it just seed so sinful. :) . . . I’m different, I know.

The end result is great! (that exclamation mark is necessary) This recipe produces a very moist, and tender cake. Each bite is rich and satisfying. The flavor is perfectly sweet, and if you do want more sugar, you’re free to sweeten the frosting as much as you like. As the caked baked around 10:30 last night, both of my parents complimented the scent of the kitchen as they walked through.

The Moral of the Story

1) Don’t let your “to-make list” dictate your life.

2) Overly ripe bananas ≠ banana bread.

Carrot Cake Recipe

Recipe from 101 Cookbooks, one of my very favorite food blogs. Although, I made a couple of changes. For instance, I used an 8 x 4 inch pan and ended up with a loaf and four mini muffins. Also, I used 6 T of butter and 2 T of Olive Oil Earth Balance. Incase you’re curious, I used maple syrup in my frosting.

2 cups whole wheat pastry flour

2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

3/4 teaspoons fine grain sea salt

3/4 cup finely chopped walnuts

4 ounces unsalted butter, heated just until melted

1/2 dried dates, seeded and chopped into a paste

3 ripe bananas (1 1/4 cups), mashed well

1 1/2 cups grated carrots (about 3 medium)

1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt (2% of low fat is okay)

2 eggs, lightly whisked

6 ounces cream cheese, room temperature

3 tablespoons agave nectar or maple syrup (or to taste)

Preheat oven to 350F. Butter a 9x5x3 / 8-cup loaf pan (or 8×8 cake pan) and line it with parchment paper.

Sift together the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt. Stir in the walnuts and set aside.

Stir the dates into the melted butter, breaking up the dates a bit.

In a separate bowl combine the bananas and carrots. Stir in the date-butter mixture, breaking up any date clumps as you go. Whisk in the yogurt and the eggs. Add the flour mixture and stir until everything just comes together. Spoon into the prepared pan. Bake for about 50 – 60 minutes or until a toothpick tests clean in the center of the cake – it’ll be less if you are using a standard cake pan. Remove from oven and let cool.

While the cake is baking whip together the cream cheese and agave nectar. Taste. If you like your frosting sweeter adjust to your liking. When the cake has completely cooled frost the top of the cake with an offset spatula.

Makes one carrot cake.

Comments
19 Responses to “Philosophical Carrot Cake”
  1. Mmm, looks and sounds delicious! I like that there’s no added sweeteners, too. My mom has diabetes, and I think she would like this! Thanks for the recipe :D

    Wei-Wei

  2. Raquel says:

    I also love 101 Cookbooks, and remember this recipe. I’ve been meaning to try it. Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. Daisy says:

    drooling over my computer screen. awesome job.

  4. Mmm, those look delicious, Sami! I bet they were great, and I love that you were able to make them with no refined sugars. :)

  5. maxinthegym says:

    No added sugar? Huge plus!

  6. I just wanted to stop by and thank you SO much for all the sweet comments you left me yesterday.
    But then I got distracted by the yummy looking carrot cake muffins…
    …what was I saying again? ;)
    Carrot Cake-y foods are one of my favorites– pancakes, muffins, cupcakes, fudge babies… anything carrot cake flavored and I’m sold!

  7. Hi there! So excited to have found your blog from Foodbuzz. I live in the glorious Bluegrass state as well. I’m in the grand city of Lexington- just right up the road from you. Look forward to seeing more from you. Best!

  8. RahRigby says:

    Yum, that looks delish! I just book marked that recipe and will soon try it out :) I just came across your blog today, it is amazing! I find that there are not a lot of teens in the blod world, so it’s always nice to find another!

  9. aauntiem says:

    Looks like it would be a great breakfast loaf if you leave off the icing.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] yogurt, cereal, or oatmeal. Don’t misunderstand me though; there’s A LOT of variety. Muffins, breakfast breads, and smoothies make their appearance. When I have a little more time, I venture into the waffle and [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

