Electrolux #splits: Vacation Banana Split!


I’m new to FoodBuzz – like, really, really new. As in, I’ve only been a member for a week. Nevertheless, my experience thus far has been nothing but awesome! As far as I can tell, FoodBuzz is constantly raising money for deserving causes, including the gulf, and now, ovarian cancer.

In order to raise money for Ovarian Cancer Research, FoodBuzz is asking all featured publishers to make and post about a banana split. Each post will donate $50 to the cause. If you aren’t a Featured Publisher, but you’d still like to donate, visit http://www.kelly-confidential.com/foodbuzz for more information.

For more information about the best banana split I’ve ever had – keep reading. ;) Honestly, I only made this banana split to raise money and help out FoodBuzz. When I quickly scoured my fridge for some ingredients, I just happened to get extremely lucky!

Team players included: banana, scooped papaya, lime semifreddo, avocado ice cream, cashew cream, lime zest, and roasted cashews. There’s hardly anything I love more than papaya and lime, they’re blissful together. And then I thought a little deeper . . . Avocado and lime are a natural, right? And . . . cashews, those are a tropical nut if I’m not mistaken’.

These flavors work together like you wouldn’t believe! I didn’t even plan on eating this thing. I was just going to photograph it, and then scoop the ingredients into some tupperware for later.

But then I decided to give it a little taste, just one. And then another. And another! It’s good my friends, really, really good. A bite of the lime semifreddo with the papaya is breakfast flavor – transported to dessert. The avocado uses the lime’s bite to move up a level, and the roasted cashews give the whole thing a nuttiness that’s totally in place.

Don’t my toes make everything look more appetizing? ;) Just KIDDING! . . . Now go raise some money for Ovarian Cancer Research. :P

Avocado Ice Cream

Good Eats, but I totally modified it by using almond milk instead of whole milk. I also used half and half instead of cream, and added more lime & lemon juice . . . and some salt. If you eat this when it’s really cold, it tastes gross. Eat it after it’s become nice and soft, then is tastes yummy.

Ingredients

  • 12 ounces avocado meat, approximately 3 small to medium
  • 1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 cups whole milk
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 cup heavy cream

Process

Peel and pit the avocados. Add the avocados, lemon juice, milk, and sugar to a blender and puree. Transfer the mixture to a medium mixing bowl, add the heavy cream and whisk to combine. Place the mixture into the refrigerator and chill until it reaches 40 degrees F or below, approximately 4 to 6 hours.

Process the mixture in an ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s directions. However, this mixture sets up very fast, so count on it taking only 5 to 10 minutes to process. For soft ice cream, serve immediately. If desired, place in freezer for 3 to 4 hours for firmer texture.

Comments
30 Responses to “Electrolux #splits: Vacation Banana Split!”
  1. Sarah Anne says:

    Heya! I just found your blog through comments you’ve left over at Fitnessista. Love it – and your photos are beautiful.

    The avocado ice cream – I wonder how it’d be substituting coconut milk for the whole milk?

    Thought I’d come from the shadows and say hi!

    • Well hello! I think that coconut milk would work beautifully! Though, it will make the ice cream more difficult to scoop, because of it its higher fat content. Yu can easily fix that issue by letting the ice cream sit at room temperature for a few minutes. :) I’m glad you like what you see here.

  2. That split it so pretty! So many colors and interesting flavors!

  3. carynbirch says:

    That sounds so cool! I think I’d make a savoury ice crea with it and add cilantro!!

  4. Wei-Wei says:

    Wow, that’s so beautiful! Honestly the play of colours is so pretty. That avocado ice cream sounds very interesting… and I love that you’re doing it for a good cause! :)

    Wei-Wei

  5. wow looks great like allways!

  6. Dionne Baldwin says:

    You are amazing. I am impressed that you came up with that! I’ve never haed avacado ice cream, but I might start. :)

  7. yasmeen says:

    I absolutely love the vibrant banana split :D

  8. gmomj says:

    Hey There I see you are hard at work!
    This dessert looks amazing.
    Can I come over for some?
    Check out my blog today!
    I made the watermelon lime bars.
    Starring you!!!!
    Everyone’s invited!

    http://gmomj.wordpress.com/

  9. That’s like the most adorable banana split I’ve ever seen!!! :) It looks SO good. I’m definitely going to have to give that avocado ice cream a try!

  10. Avocado contains vitamins that are useful for making the skin become supple, removes wrinkles, makes skin look young and fresh, Anti-depression, anti-bacterial substances and anti-fungal, have powerful antioxidant that can capture free radicals in the body due to pollution.

  11. vampiregran says:

    Your split is beautiful (and so are your toes!). I, too, am brand new to Foodbuzz and really had fun with this challenge. I hope we raise lots of cash for Ovarian Cancer Research.

  12. Jenny says:

    That is so prettttty. I’m so impressed by your cooking abilities at 17. When I was 17, I did not have the drive to learn to cook like this.

  13. Avocado ice cream. With a few tweaks, this recipe will be a great breakfast for me :)

  14. Winnie says:

    Hi there,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog…your banana split looks amazing; I’ve yet to try avocado ice cream but I’m going to soon, with coconut milk. Cheers and looking forward to checking out more of your posts!

  15. Morom3t3 says:

    awwww! my favorite!

  16. atta says:

    So good! Look delicious
    Find top-rated @ Homemade ice cream makers at great prices and get Super Saver Shipping in USA. Get special cheap price Home Ice Cream Makers Deals and browse our product list. We have the best Homemade Ice Cream Makers offers.

  17. cakeforbreakingthefast says:

    literally just invested in my very own ice-cream machine, avocado ice-cream sounds grand!
    xx Hannah

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

