My Autumn Salad


In celebration of Fall Break, I’m beginning with my yummy autumn salad. One day in . . . August? . . . I chopped the ingredients in my refrigerator and created one of my new favorite combinations. This salad isn’t missing a single component because it’s fresh, roasted, tangy, sweet, crunchy, chewy, and creamy. Since that first miracle of a day, I’ve remade this mélange four times. It’s that good.

The ingredients will tumble together and blend in your mouth in the most delicious of ways. The most satisfying part is spearing big chunks of chewy butternut squash, fresh figs, and roasted pecans. While most salads leave you wanting more, this one will fill you up and leave you felling full. I used bleu cheese. If you don’t like the moldy crumbles, I want you to try them again. Did you know that it takes seven attempts at a new food for the average person to enjoy a new flavor? The bleu cheese makes this salad. Alas, if you’re really that stubborn, use goat cheese.

A homemade balsamic dressing tops this stunner of a salad and completes its deep flavors. Just because summer is gone doesn’t mean that salads aren’t an option. Switch up the flavors from tomatoes and mozzarella and you can have your salads all year-round. :)

My Autumn Salad

A Teenage Gourmet. For an extra bite and one more ingredient, red onion is a great addition. Serves one.

  • Two handfuls of mixed greens
  • Generous sprinkle of roasted, cubed butternut squash
  • Two figs, quartered
  • 10-ish roasted pecans (just microwave for 60 seconds)
  • 1 ounce crumbles bleu cheese
  • red onion (optional)
  • balsamic dressing

You know how to assemble a salad, don’t you? ;)

Comments
24 Responses to “My Autumn Salad”
  1. Wei-Wei says:

    Indeed I know how to make a salad – and this one sounds absolutely amazing! I had fresh figs for the first time ever the other day, and while they were good, I don’t think I had good ones. They weren’t incredibly flavourful, just a little sweet. Hmmm.

  2. Carolyn says:

    Looks great. I’ve never actually gotten figs from the store. I don’t know what has been holding me back.

    Carolyn
    http://eatlivebewell.wordpress.com

  3. teenagehealthfreak says:

    that looks great!! i’ve really come to like fruit in my salad…espcially with cheese..:) i have a butternut squash in my fridge..i CANNOT wait to try it!!!!

  4. Ari says:

    I’m allergic to figs! Tear, tear.

  5. I was going to post today about a delicious salad I had, too! Hooray for gourmet salads. :P

  6. losangelas says:

    looks yummy! gonna try it soon!

  7. Without even adding the phrase “for your age” — I just have to tell you that you have a great writing style and a wonderful way of decribing even the simplest of eating pleasures. I’m a big fan!

  8. So vibrant and delectable looking. I have never used figs in a salad. Great idea!

  9. ytotheummy says:

    ahh i wish we still had figs on our fig tree so I could eat them in my salad! too bad :( yours looks good though! :D

  10. Kim in MD says:

    Your salad looks delicious! I agree with Rosemary- you are a fabulous writer. I love your style, too! :-)

  11. Peggy says:

    This salad sounds absolutely delicious! I love the entire flavor combination, and as much as I despise bleu cheese, I think I’m going to have to try it again (as I always do) in hopes that this time, I will like it! =)

  12. Figs figs figs! Ive been looking for them everywhere. I hope I didnt miss out on the quick figgy window!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

